Sewing time

Yes – I acutally did some fabric cutting and sewing. It seems like it’s been quite a while since I’ve done that.   I cut out the 6 star quilt and then of course had to stitch a bit on those pieces.  It’s looking good.  But time to make some dinner and clean up some of my mess and toss in another load of laundry.  And I need to contemplate what fabrics I want to use next weekend for the Starshine quilt — definitely something different than the bright colors on black I’m using for the smaller version.  Maybe black and white and red? — I’ve got a stack of black and white fqs that might work, I’ll just have to go play in the stash tomorrow and see what I can find.  It’s too chilly tonight in the sewing room to play in there now since I’ve had the door to that room closed all day.   But I can say it’s really easy piecing to put those blocks together.  I had one star made in no time. 

One of the things I forgot to buy when I was at the grocery store was cake mixes.   If I’m making a cake for something I normally make it from scratch so I don’t usually have any mixes in the cupboard.  But in the Bridge cookbook I got from a friend they had 3-2-1 cake.  Now I may  be the last person to ever hear of this but it’s two different cake mixes you mix together and then when you want to you can bake individual servings using the 3-2-1 proportions and just keep the rest of the mix in a baggie in the cupboard.  It’s a very interesting idea because I certainly don’t need to be making a whole cake around here but dang I forgot to pick up the cake mixes.   Can you tell I really need to go start dinner now so I stop thinking about cake.  I guess it’s a good thing there’s nothing remotely dessert like in the house! LOL

Starshine Yardage update – Stitchin with Justquiltin 2013 February Project

Since I still had the fabrics from Coloring Outside the Lines project sitting out, I decided they are perfect for Starshine.  Are you planning on joining in stitching this quilt with me.   I’m excited to get started and it just so happens that I’ve taken off that Friday and Monday (MLK Day – my express bus doesn’t run that day and the other bus schedules don’t run as often – the city must think everyone here is a government worker who doesn’t have to work that day)  but it’s a good excuse for me to take a day of vacation  and, while I was at it, decided to take off Friday too so have a 4-day weekend next weekend and hope to make some serious progress on several quilting projects! 

I’ve revised the yardage on the Project page  now that I’ve figured out the cutting directions for Starshine.  There are some slight changes from what the original EQ estimates were and I also separated the binding yardage from the pinwheel yardage in case you don’t want to use the same fabric for each.  Backing yardage has also been added so check it out and start shopping that stash.    Is anyone going to be sewing with me????  If you don’t sew along, you can’t possibly win any of the goodies I posted about previously 😉 so come stitch with me!   

But here are the fabrics I had planned to use, except for the background which I have to go pull from the stash.  But when I looked at them all together, I thought wouldn’t that black print be absolutely perfect for the background ( I was going to use it for the pinwheels originally) — it would look like little bits of the stars shimmering in the background.  But darnation — there is not enough on that piece! ;-(   I did contemplate just for a fleeting moment hopping a bus to the quilt shop to see if they  happen to still have it – since I bought it several months ago – but no, I want to try to make all of thse SWJ2013 projects from the stash.

But then – a brilliant thought – pick different fabrics for the Starshine project as originally shown and then make a smaller Starshine (with 6 stars rather than 12) and I think I will have enough of the black for the background.  Perfect!  So here’ the general plan for what I want  to do with the bright fabrics and the black multicolor print background.  I will also swap out the olive greeny fabric  in the fabric photo above for a different color since  it doesn’t look good with the lime green fabric.  I may try to get this one cut out this weekend so I can start stitching on it on Friday.    So  back to the stash to chooose fabrics for the 12 block version of this quilt.

Now I may have to think about making a grocery list and heading out to the grocery store.  A good friend sent me her Bridge Club’s fundraiser cookbook and my mouth was watering last night as I paged through it.  I may need to try a few of those recipes soon!  Plus horror of horrors – I used the last of the coffee this am and I had no coffee creamer!!  Yes – I shall brave the cold wind blowing and grab the next bus to the store!!! I need coffee…..