Floss Sorting Complete

I can mark floss organizing off my list.  It’s always nice to have all the flosses back in alphabetical or numerical order, hanging in their place, so next time I need to pull them they are all there.  And obviously so much easier to be able to substitute a color for one I don’t’ have when I have all in one place and not scattered everywhere.

20240623_1 Top row are Weeks; middle row are Gentle Arts, Classic Colorworks, and a few Night Stalker  flosses (the smaller twisted ones).  I bought the  Night Stalker colors – just a couple but multiple skens of each) for a couple one-color charts that are in my stash. They are lovely variegated hand dyed skeins.  The bottom row is mostly Victorian Motto, just a couple Valdani Threads, a few Colour and Cotton flosses and the mesh bag hanging on the right edge is Flower Thread.

The pink tin (the thing with the scissors on the top) contains a few silks on spools and the Sulky 12 wt on spools.

20240623_4

Then hanging from a wooden hanger which is mean to hold ties or belts (it has little metal arms that swing out and to the side) are the DMCs/Sullivan flosses. (I hangs on the handle of one of those rolling storage units with all the trays that slide into it)

I did not get as much stitching done last night because there was about a three hour period we were in the midst of tornado warnings so I was glued to the tv watching those and opening the door periodically  to see what it was doing outside here – although I can’t see much of the sky due to all the trees.

Luckily, on my side of the city we only got rain and more rain and then some additional rain.  I was watching a tv station that is not real far from me, and they said torrential rain had just started pounding on their roof.   So, when I opened the door it wasn’t raining here but I could hear it as it approached – so loud.   It poured about half an hour – I’m sure the streets were flooded again as we are so saturated, and the runoff can’t get down the storm drains fast enough when it comes like that.  But I was lucky as the other side of the city had golf ball size hail. My lights flickered several times but that was all.

But I did get a little bit of the windows stitched in after the storms had passed.   Once the red is around those windows, the white windowpanes will pop.  I had a hard time deciding what color to make the “glass” in the panes, but I think this light gray will work well.  It’s Seagull by Weeks and has just a slight variegation in it so I think looks nice in the windows.  The door has sidelights, so I stitched those in so I don’t forget and stitch all that in with white and I also added in the birdbath.

20240623_5