Happy Friday – July 23, 2021

I need to get organized around here and get some stuff done – laundry is calling and other messes to take care of.  I’m on vacation so trying to plan all I want to get done.  But then – it is vacation so I wouldn’t want to throw myself into these tasks too quickly. 🙂

Speaking of unorganization – I haven’t gotten all of the charts adopted/needleminders adopted in the mail before starting vacation – too busy trying to get actual work done – so they will be delayed but will be put in the mail the beginning of August when I return to the office.   And speaking of chart adoptions – there are still several charts that were put up for adoption during the month of July  but the adoptees have not emailed me with their mailing address and I think there were 2 from June that were never claimed which will go back in rotation.  please please please do not put your mailing address in the blog comments.  My email address, as always, is on the front page of my blog under my photo so please send any address information to that email.

Last weekend I was at loose ends and couldn’t decide what new cross stitch project to start.  I don’t like having too many of them going at the same time, and all the ones I wanted to start were larger projects.  But, with the plan to start A Changed World on August 1 along with Judy and Jo, I didn’t want to start another large project and then have to switch to  A Changed World.     So I “cheated” and started early on A Changed World – it was sitting there all ready to go with fabric and floss pulled.  a changed world

I did confess my early start to both Judy and Jo.  🙂  We are all just going to work at our own pace anyway with no deadline to finish other than “someday” because we all have many other things, crafts, tasks, work to fit in to our days.  Here’s how far I am after a week of stitching on this.  One section nearly completed – just need to finish church windows and door.

changed1

I’m using colors similar to the chart image but it’s charted for silks and DMC.  The only DMC I’m using is black and the rest are a mix of Weeks Dye Works (mostly Weeks), with a couple Gentle Arts Sampler Threads and Classic Colorworks mixed in.    And as I’ve gone along I’ve changed placement of a few colors – like the church door which was supposed to be  grayish color but it was too similar to the door frame color and steps so I decided my church door should be blue.  The windows will look like stained glass with several colors in them.   After those are done I’ll have to decide if I want to work on the section above or below the building row — decisions, decisions.

10 comments on “Happy Friday – July 23, 2021

  1. Hi //Denise Just checking to see if you got my address. Don’t do much on here to be sure. Shirley Marvin

    • Yes – I saw you left it in a comment on the blog which is why I haven’t approved that comment to actually show up on the blog – I don’t post people’s names and home addresses to my blog. I saved your comment so I’ve got your address (but the item won’t be mailed until I am back at work) t but in the future please send me a private email with the address. Thanks.

  2. Beautiful stitching. What fabric are you using? I am feeling a need to start this also. Pattern is ordered so far. Thank you.

  3. That is going to be lovely. I have the pattern but I don’t think I will be able to start on August 1st. It has been too long since I have Cross Stitches. I started The Friendship Tree on 16 count Aida. Thank goodness my hubby gave me a pair of magnification glasses. Or I would be in trouble! Lol I but Immhaving fun.

    I dug out my under the bed tote and there were all the stretchers bars from the 1989,s. I have tried to throw them away but hubby kept saying you might need them again. Well they are so old and when you put them together, the fit is stretched. They can’t be used. I plan to order better hoops.

    Having fun!

Comments are closed.