Waterford

It’s a lovely day outside – I think it may be safe to pack up my wintery clothes – a stroll through the apt complex down to my mailbox – sunny, 72 deg., blue sky, slight breeze – perfection!  Now if I could convince a very determined pair of wrens that they cannot build a nest between my outdoor light right next to my door and the side of the building. I keep taking it down, they keep rebuilding… persistent little buggers.

I found in my mailbox the advance copies of  McCall’s Quilting – July/August 2017 issue.

And inside….. Waterford….

20170514_1Whoever sewed this did a lovely job and the quilter did some fantastic quilting which doesn’t really show up in my photos.   As with all my other published designs, I have not sewn the actual quilt that appears in the magazine – some other lovely talent sewists and quilters that the magazine uses has made it due to time constraints.

20170514_3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The quilting shows up in the photo below a bit.

20170514_5

 

Here’s the original image I submitted to the magazine.  They chose fabrics pretty close in color the colors I colored it in with – the fabrics are just a bit brighter / true color.

 

QMS9 -

Stay tuned – there will be a drawing in the future for the magazine issue.

11 comments on “Waterford

  1. Very nice. It looks complicated, but would be a good scrap quilt for all the colors of the points. Wouldn’t make much of a dent in my stash, though. 🙂

  2. I like the design of the quilt. Concerning the wrens, have you tried placing something in the space they keep building the nest to discourage them?

    • I think that would only encourage them to build on top of the light or whatever I put there to block it. Keeping my fingers crossed – they did not rebuild it yesterday so hopefully they have found a new home.

  3. Congratulations on a fabulous quilt! The points are fun and great open spaces for wonderful quilting.

Comments are closed.