Happy Easter

UPDATED 4/30/17 — Graylagran (a/k/a Denise – what a lovely first name she has! 🙂  comment (was lucky #6, selected by the RNG.  Congratulations! I have emailed you privately.

20170416_12  I realized yesterday I had not dyed any Easter eggs – well that’s just wrong but I didn’t have any of the Paas dye stuff so after looking on line to see how to use food coloring to dye eggs, mixed my own dye and got this lovely salmon color.

And I opened my door this morning to….

SPRING!   It was unseasonably warm (and rainy) the last couple days and we went from no leaves on the trees and a few green weeds growing on the hillside outside my door to this.

That bright springy green on little shrubs and the trees all sprouted tiny leaves.  It looks like Spring has finally arrived here.

And there was an exciting arrival yesterday – the first of my designs in print this year – the postman brought the advance copies of the June/July issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts.  It’s always exciting to see it actually in print and part of that is because I never really know what it will look like.  I don’t actually sew up the version of the quilt that appears in the magazines and the magazine chooses the fabrics/colors that it will be used by one of their sewists to make it.  And, since I hate naming quilts, if I do have a name I have given one of the designs, I always tell them they can feel free to give it a new name. So  here is Sunset Ridge.

20170415_7

I have extra copies to give away and will be choosing winner  – winner chosen  see update above next Sunday on April 30.  To be eligible for an entry to win, you must live in the United States and leave a comment on this blog post – one comment per person.

20170415_8

The quilt in the magazine actually uses colors/fabric similar to what I used in my original drawings in EQ.  Below is the EQ image I submitted to them.

QMS2-linked

50 comments on “Happy Easter

  1. Beautiful quilt! I would love to make it, I can see it in sunset colors or ocean colors. Actually, you have a winner no matter what colors you choose!

  2. Beautiful design! Love the bunny ears on the birds at the top of your blog as well…”eggstra” cuteness.

  3. The colors in the quilt do look like a sunset and I love any version of the ninepatch in a quilt. Another great design Denise!

  4. Absolutely gorgeous! I can see why they used similar colors to your’s because they are perfect for that pattern.
    Thank you for the chance to win!

  5. Congratulations Denise, it must be so exciting to see your beautiful pattern in the magazine. Wonderful signs of spring here in Pennsylvania too.

  6. Very graphic quilt, I love when 9 patches show their stuff. Will have to get a copy one way or another.

  7. Such a pretty quilt. It looks fast and easy to make so would be perfect for last minute gifts and charity quilts. Thanks for the chance at winning a copy of the magazine.

  8. Happy Easter Denise! Those are my kinda colors, thanks for the chance to win a copy of the magazine.

  9. Congrats on your quilt design publication. Oh! the endless colorways this quilt could be made. Looks easy and fast enough to make quilts for charity functions.

  10. Happy Easter Denise. I love the color of your dyed eggs. There is just something about Easter that kind of says Spring is here. Congratulations on being published again. Beautiful quilt.

  11. Very nice design. Looks complex but when you look at the blocks closely it would be an easy quilt to sew. Congrats on being in the magazine.

  12. Sunset Ridge is a beautiful quilt! The design in the magazine almost looks like crosses with the lighter color in the background. Love how your version looks too.

  13. Congratulations on your first quilt publication of the year. I like this design. And welcome to spring!!

  14. I like this new design. I’m always a fan of quilts that remind me of tile floors, and this one certainly does. Thanks much for the chance to win a copy of the magazine.

  15. What a great name for the quilt! It looks like a sunrise or a sunset. Congrats on being published in the magazine.

Comments are closed.