April 1, 2017 – Denise’s Snowy Day

No, Denise’s Snowy Day is not a horrible April Fool’s joke being played on me by Mother Nature snowing on me (tho April is not always without snow here). The sun is shining

here, it’s in the 50s outside – much better than the rain we’ve been having.  I’m being a bit lazy tho and having a bit of a movie marathon this afternoon and maybe knitting.

Denise’s Snowy Day is the  name of my Loopy Legend reward yarn for 2016 which recently came in at The Loopy Ewe (and you could get your own Denise’s Snow Day yarn here) 🙂  There are some really stunning Legend colors this time around.

snowyday

Some of you may remember my past yarns – this is the third time I’ve achieved Loopy Legend status (not sure that’s a good thing) but it’s part of the reward program at The Loopy Ewe.  Once achieved you send an inspiration photo and then yarn is dyed based on the colors in your inspiration photo.   This time the Loopy Legends are being dyed by Dream in Color and it’s a nice large 600 yard hank.

This was the inspiration photo I sent in.  The bright blue sky – the blue gray shadows on the show and the gray/green tree trunks – love it all. It’s always a surprise when you see how the dyers interpreted the colors into yarn.  I was hoping it wasn’t too much white and there’s virtually no white at all in the yarn – it turned out so pretty!  Shades of blue, with a hint of very light green and gray.

20170401_2.JPG

I got my free hank, ordered a few more, and although I should have enough for a sweater, I ordered one more to make absolute sure since I don’t know what kind of sweater I plan to make yet.  Or I may need some matching socks.

In my prior blog post I showed you the yarn, in hank form, opened up and caked, for the next DaVinci Cowl I planned to make.  The KAL started today in Mary-Ann Lammers Designs on Ravelry and runs all month.  I started my first one early (which is actually the 5th DaVinci Cowl I have made) earlier in the week and cast it off last night.  I used DK yarn so it’s not as wide as some others I ‘ve made.  Half way through the middle I intentionally caused the colors to shift a bit – I like how that turned out.

So in the wee hours of the morning as I was watching movies, I cast on another on in bright springy /easter egg colors.  The color is Canary Island and it’s SweetGeorgia bulletproof sock yarn.  I didn’t notice until right now looking at the label that it is a mix of 50% merino 20% nylon and also contains 15% kid mohair and 15% silk.  It feels nice but without looking I wouldn’t have realized there was mohair or silk in it.

I’m just a bit farther along than in the photo – and the bright colors are fun to see start to pool.  In addition to the KAL – this will also be my March TLE Monthly Mixer project – where the theme is  Spring Break.

I also had put aside the crochet project I was working on – didn’t want to make my wrists 20170312_4

sore.  But I think I’m about half done with the strips for the second braid so want to get that finished (and claim my ESK badge for that).

The 1st Quarter ended for ESK Yarnathon, so new badges have been released and the 2nd Quaterly KAL has started.  For that project I’m making a feather and fan stitch warp in these lovely silky yarns.    Many projects on my needles to say the least — but keeps me out of trouble!

20170311_4

