Hot Fudge – another finish off the needles

I call this cowl hot fudge because that’s what the colors remind me of (or maybe I’m just hungry) but it looks like hot fudge and melting vanilla ice cream. 🙂

hotfudgeThe yarn I used is Miss Babs Kaweah – a DK weight yarn.  The colors are Muslin and Petrified Forest. I was afraid the Petrified Forest would be too dark as I was knitting the bottom of the cowl where it’s all that color and that when I added in the Muslin, it would look too stark.  But I was wrong – I love the way they play together.  The stitch pattern is lovely and squishy and super easy.20170214_3

I started this Sunday night ad cast it off on the my bus ride home tonight.  The pattern is When Two Become One  which is written for fingering weight yarn but I love it in this DK weight.  I just cast on 148 stitches and chose an appropriate needle size but otherwise followed the pattern.

It turned out about 9.5″ from top to bottom and 13″ from side to side or 26″around.

I love the stitch pattern and the way the two colors play together in the middle section and keep thinking how great a sweater would be made like that…..hmmmm.

I also have these two Miss Babbs Kaweah yarns in the stash — I think I may make another cowl from this pattern for the gifting pile.

cherries-jubilee

MUST KNIT FASTER…. There may be an order of yarn headed this way from Eat Sleep Knit…. there was a Valentine’s special (which I didn’t actually know about until after I placed my order but I got it in during the right time frame so bonus!) but I needed some ESK yarn for a couple Yarnathon projects that required heavier weight yarn – nearly all my ESK is sock weight.  After all I must help out my Team Gumblebees a bit!  And while I was at it I ordered some of the special “candy” colored yarns since the Yarnathon is Candyland themed.   🙂