Fading In and Fading Out and What’s on the Needles

I previously posted about the Finding Your Fade shawl pattern (on Ravelry) I want to make.  The pattern is written for seven different yarns.  The premise is to pick your first hank of yarn, pick the second one pulling out colors from the first, third pulling out colors from the second, etc. through all seven hanks.  (For quilters that don’t knit – you may be familiar with the Blooming Nine patch quilt pattern which basically uses the same idea to pick your fabrics and it ends up looking like a lovely wash of colors.)

Anyway – back to knitting – here are the yarns I ordered for Finding Your Fade.

20170114_17

Now the only problem with ordering on line and not picking out in person is with hand dyed yarns – they can differ a lot from hank to hank as to how much a specific shade really shows up in the yarn.  So I this case, the fourth from the left does not have as much of the burgundy/reddish color as the example image that was posted for that yarn – it’s just the nature of hand dyed yarn and I totally didn’t think to add a note to my order asking them to give me the hank of that color with the most reddish tones of the ones in their stock because they would have done that.   Also the 2nd and 4th from the left are very similar so I might want to remove one of those.

Hmm …. I decided to mull it over and look in the stash today to see if there might be a better transition color in there.  There wasn’t but after breakfast out with a friend this morning, we stopped at Wisconsin Craft Market (which has really expanded their yarn selections) and I found one that I thought would help.

20170114_8

I removed the 2nd from the left in the first photo and the center hank in the photo above is the one I just bought.  I switched the two green ones around also.  I think I will like this  combination a lot.

But before starting on that, I have two items I’d really like to get off the needles first.

20170107_4

 

My ESK KAL shawl.  This is the same photo I posted last — it’s nearing completion but all squished up on smaller needles so a new photo wouldn’t really look like much.

And last weekend I cast on another of Mary-Ann Lammers color stacking/pooling cowl patterns — DaVinci Cowl III Spanish Steps. It starts out with a simple lace edging and then goes into alternating pooling sections and contrast eyelet sections.  Very fun and relaxing knit.

My version, which I’m calling the “Leaning Spanish Steps,” for reasons that will become obvious, uses this yarn

20170114_3

This hand dye is a bit more blurred/blendy and inconsistently dyed – which causes the colors not too stack on top off each other as cleanly but you can still get some really great pooling.  I’m not complaining – I love this yarn and knew I might get a bit different effect with it before starting but wanted to see what would happen.

20170114_4

Here it is wound and you need a solid looking accent color which is this gorgeous red.  For once these photos are spot on as far as the colors go.

20170114_13

The lace and eyelets won’t show well until I block it but check out that color pooling.  I love this!  I’m just past the halfway mark – it gets folded in half height-wise and the yarn switches placement on the inside (sort of like the lining) – it is mostly the solid red and the eyelet sections are the multicolor.  This one I’m definitely keeping for me.

I also pulled some yarn I want to use next on the loom.  The plan is to weave some cloth to make a bag of some sort – whether knitting project bag or tote bag or some type of purse — I haven’t decided yet but it will be for my TLE January Mixer project.

Too chilly to work in the sewing room today – the wind is blowing on that side of the building and dang its not warm sitting at this computer so off to go do a bit of knitting.  Can I knit fast enough to keep my knitting stash report in the black tomorrow – LOL – nope, undoubtedly not.

 

 

 

6 comments on “Fading In and Fading Out and What’s on the Needles

  1. Love, Love, love that pooling yarn and the rich, scrumptious red. They look like they were meant for each other. It’s going to be bee-uu-ti-ful.

  2. oh the pooling! Funny…when you started to talk about pulling colors, the first thing I thought of was “oh like Disappearing Nine Patch in quilting’!! I should have read the whole post first! GMTA…:::still chuckling at myself:::

  3. Oh I am tempted by the Find your Fade shawl…may have to shop my stash. And I LOVE the shawl with the pooling yarn!!! I’m always looking for sock yarn that will pool…it makes me happy! The colors in your skein are gorgeous…happy knitting!

Comments are closed.