On the Needles (and the Loom ) 1-7-17

I may have to knit much faster – the temperatures have been below zero all week and with the wind chills (the winds were horrible until yesterday) -20 to -30 below so my waiting at the top of the hill with no wind break for the bus to come — that was so not fun.  But some of those big shawls wrapped around my shoulders and neck over my coat did come in handy.  wigglewrap

A co-worker knew it was bad yesterday when I walked into work and to my desk with my long wiggle wrap (one of my favorite wraps that I get tons of compliments on from strangers whenever I wear it) wrapped even more time around my neck and shoulders and wearing….. gasp! …. a HAT!  I never wear a hat, I hate wearing hats.  I will wrap part of a scarf over my head if desperate but this was beyond desperate.  Of course I had amazing standout straight static hair for the rest of the day but that’s just entertainment for my coworkers on a quite Friday afternoon to see which way parts of it might stand out. 🙂   In other words – it’s too damn cold around here.  (But is supposed to warm up a bit in a few days.)20170107_2

The scarf I have on the loom is getting close to being done I think.  I can’t tell how much warp I have wrapped around the back beam but I’m at least 3/4s done I think. I haven’t had the loom out much lately and I’m always surprised by how quickly you can weave up a scarf.   Blurry photo but I had to open the front door to let some natural light in so I could get a somewhat true color photo of the yarn.  I wasn’t going to waste time snapping multiple photos.

I’m already planning my next project – to weave some fabric and then turn it into a tote bag.

I’m making great progress on my ESK 1st Quarter KAL project.

20170107_4

I’ve only got two more repeats of the plain stockinette and twisted textured stitches to do.  I’m going to add a few extra rows to the final section to use up the most of my yarn.  This will just be a small neck scarf – not really a shawl – but what a great pop of color to add to a dark sweater or blouse.  It’s a fun and easy knit – about the time I get bored with stockinette you switch to the twists and vice versa so it keeps it moving along.  I love this look of the two stitch patterns so much I’m contemplating using them in a sweater at some future point.

I have fallen in love with a new large shawl pattern.   Part of it is the stunning color combination the designer put together – isn’t this gorgeous.  Find your Fade.  I was unable to get it out of my mind and then when TLE put up a bunch of project pages showing possible yarn groupings for it, I decided I had to make it but I’m going stash diving to see what combination I can come up with.  I want to finish my ESK KAL shawl first  but am looking forward to starting on this one.  Yes – I know it’s the “year of finishing things up” but I never said I wouldn’t start new projects.

The yarn I hard ordered at Miss Babs Gratitude Sale before the end of the year would be so perfect for  that shawl (colorwise) but alas it’s a heavier weight yarn and I don’t have enough of it anyway.  But check out these gorgeous colors.

20170107_9

From left to right they are Muslin, Petrified Forest, Pink Lemonade, Candy Apple.  Yes, I think my aversion to pinks is letting up a little. 😉   I’m actually thinking about using these on the loom and blending them sort of the way the shawl meshes the colors together to see what I come up with.

 

 

 

4 comments on “On the Needles (and the Loom ) 1-7-17

  1. Tip for hair static — I spray a little Static Guard on my hairbrushes to get rid of static cling when I blow dry my hair. Works pretty good!

    • My hair air dries rather than blow dries and I’m extremely allergic to Static Guard so not an option for me.

      ETA — and I solved some of the problem today – I cut about 6 to 7″ off of it. It’s far less static prone when shorter. 🙂

  2. I like the idea of that top with the different colors. But I am lost on sizeing. It says one size fit all. No way. I wear a size 4x or sometimes 5x depending on correct sizing. And I have no idea how to lengthen it to 32 inches, how much more yarn it would take, or how much the costs might be out of my reach. I love your color choices for you. When I look at it, I see beach colors. Congrats

    • You’re comments have me confused but I’m going to assume that by “top” you mean the Shawl (Find Your Fade) that I linked to in this blog post?? It actually doesn’t say “one size fits all” it says “one size – see notes for measurements”. I actually haven’t made any color choices for me yet – the yarns shown are for a different project although they would have looked good in that shawl pattern. I’m going stash diving to come up with my color combination – haven’t decided yet if it will be solid looking colors or something more patterned. Since I wear shawls more like scarfs (around neck and top of shoulders as opposed to around just shoulders but not up around the neck – especially on asymmetrical shawls – the length along the widest point isn’t an issue for me. The way this one is made the easiest option to make it wider/longer would probably be to use a heavier yarn base or go up in needle size and of course how vigorously it is blocked it can make a big difference in size depending on the yarn that is used.

Comments are closed.