Artistic Overdrive

How many different projects have my hands touched today (just call me Magpie — talk about being distracted by shiney objects). 🙂

I did a bit of binding stitching on the Hillside houses.  That is a wall hanging that is for one of my TLE Mixer projects – plus it means just getting a WIP finished.  Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have the finished project to show.

Then there was  that brainstorm yesterday that I really wanted to finish my December knitting mixer for TLE (even if I hadn’t started it yet).  The theme for that challenge is the letter “D” for December.  You can use a “DK” yarn, pattern name or color name or designer name that starts with D – it’s a pretty loose interpretation.  I knew what yarn I really wanted to use – a bulky weight in a gorgeous red called Jupiter (no “D”) there.  I couldn’t really find a pattern that I wanted to use it for but then I thought of the pie crust lattice stitch I’m using on my CF sweater – I absolutely love that stitch and it would be so squish and pretty in a bulky yarn but no “D” involved in  that either.  But if I make up my own pattern I can call it whatever I like!   So  “Dark Cherry Pie Cowl” pattern was born.

20170101_6

The color is a bit darker and richer looking but I started on this last night and made great progress (especially considering all the other things I got distracted with).  And it’s much quicker to do in the round rather than flat like on my sweater.

Then there was the brilliant idea to get something on the loom.  I didn’t take a photo but I did get it partially warped with the Old Gold yarn.  I’ve got all the slots filled and just need to go back and do the holes and tie it all off and I’ll be ready to start.  I think I’ll save that until tomorrow to do.

Then Judy the enabler  (you know who she is) 🙂  was talking about the ESK 2017 Yarnathon.  I had forgotten they would be starting a new one.  I hadn’t participated much last year (other than ordering some yarn) because the projects didn’t interest me but I checked out this year’s quarterly projects.  The first one is knitting a Melanie Berg design – I love many of her shawls.  I have the On the Spice Market but the yarn didn’t come from ESK so first I had to go and look at my past orders from ESK to see if I had purchased any yarn that would work for a shawl I wanted to make.  A lot of my yarn from ESK was just single hanks of Bugga and other sock yarn but I have some oh so soft Hand Maiden Mini Maiden I had gotten from ESK in the stash.

20170101_2

I’m interested in setting how it knits up because of the shading in it.  Did I mention how soft it is?  It’s 50% wool / 50%silk and I’m going to use it to make You’re Beautiful.   The designer has so many lovely striped or multicolor shawls but after making a couple of striped shawls by various designers I realized most of my tops are prints and there’s only so may things I can wear multicolored/striped shawls with.  So I think this one will be a great addition to the wardrobe since it should read as a solid.

As I was looking through my yarn orders to see what might work for the other quarter ESK projects – one of them is a sweater and the red yarn I recently swatched for a sweater is from ESK so I’ll be waiting before starting a sweater out of that.  I may be able to do all  – or maybe all but one – from stash yarn.

Now to do a bit of machine quilting on the wine glass wallhanging.

 

 

 

