Starting the New Year off right in my sewing room….

I have a quilting plan.  It’s still formulating …. but as I was cleaning the sewing room recently -taking stuff off of shelves so I could move them – refolding and restacking the stuff that was on them – moving stacks of quilt tops to be finished – shoving tubs containing swap blocks to the side…. but uppermost in my mind was  “I really need to finish some of these!”   There are things I’ve totally forgotten about, things I love, fabrics I love in the stash, patterns I’ve been wanting to try.

aNo matter how much cleaning out I do, there are still always some things left behind that I keep thinking I should finish but I know I never will — because I no longer love them or maybe never did or  someone gives me quilt tops or blocks started by some family member of theirs because  no one in their family sews or has an interest in them and they think  since I do quilt, I of course will want them (which is not necessarily so, but I add them to my piles anyway).    So there  will be items leaving my sewing room (and please don’t leave comments with all the places you think I should  donate them – I do donate what is appropriate to my local Good Will where they are much appreciated.)

There are things I’ve totally forgotten I made or swapped — I was thinking just the other day it’s been a long time since we did one of our swaps through The Quilting Post yahoo group and maybe I should come up with a new one.  But then I think of the tubs of swap blocks from all those past swaps that still need to be set together into quilt tops and the cost of postage involved with swapping and I think I’ll just play with the swap blocks I’ve got.

There are items that got put aside (probably to start some new project) that need very little done to them in order to complete them.   There are quilt tops to be quilted and then there are more quilt tops to be quilted, and once those are done there are still more quilt tops to be quilted (do you get the idea I have a few quilt tops needing quilting??)  And did I mention swap blocks to be used – lots of them.  c

So in 2017 – I’m going to concentrate on “what I’ve got” — the fabric I’ve got, the projects I’ve got started, in all the various stages of progress  like the swap blocks to become projects and quit tops —  and  getting them to completion.

abc

So my plan is to start the New Year off right – . To pull some of those projects and have my own little “sew-in” on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day  (yes, I’m a party animal on New Year’s Eve but won’t be wearing a party hat light this quilting party animal  – – – – >>

I haven’t decided yet what project I’ll start on but my plan is for the completion of WIP to far outweigh any newly started projects this year.  I’m not saying I won’t start new projects (says the woman who can see just beyond the computer screen a lovely quilt pattern and batik collection she received from a California quilting friend as a Christmas gift that she is itching to start on) but I seriously want to complete some lots of those already started.

qiotNow I also have an idea formulating for a new quilt along project or block of the month.  I love Christmas quilts (even tho there is not a finished one to go on my bed) and as I was listening to some Christmas music the other day I was thinking of a quilt with blocks based on Christmas Carols and other holiday songs – each block representing either a song title or specific lyrics in the song.   I’ve written down a few ideas  but need to mull this idea over a bit more before putting mouse to EQ drawing program to see what I might come up with.

Sew  — will you be partying with me on New Year’s Eve  working on some quilting project that will be your first quilty finish in 2017?

q

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 comments on “Starting the New Year off right in my sewing room….

  1. I have been following you for a couple of years and love your blog. I did the mystery quilt a couple of years ago, it was my first real quilt. I’ve done some quilt as you go and I’ve tied some baby quilts. I just want to say thank you and Happy New Year.

  2. I will be quilting with you on New Year’s Eve day! I have a couple tops that I need to get quilted. I started on one yesterday and hope to have it quilted by New Years Day.

  3. One new project for one old project (not counting samples for classes). I should start with the Christmas ones I would like to do, as that is the busiest time of the year for me.

  4. I’ve been assessing my stash lately and thinking it’s time to actually use all this fabric I loved and still do love. I’ve officially stopped working and when I was buying all this fabric and these patterns I kept saying it was for when I retire and won’t have money to buy fabric. Well that day is here, hope to join you NYEve with the first finish of the year!

  5. My exciting new years eve plan was to sew like its a deadline, however, my daughter convinced me that babysitting grandchildren takes precedence. Alas, I will not be able to join you on that particular day, but rest assured I will be right there with you for the rest of the year. i have a room full of fabric and projects in various stages of completion that need to be FINISHED.

  6. It’s a date! Let the quilty projects roll out the Sewing Room door and into the New Year as finished projects! Hopefully, ones we still love!!

  7. Indeed, I will be sewing on a UFO this New Year’s Eve! But not on New Year’s Day, I will be working. Good way to end the year, though. Happy New Year!

  8. Your purge is understandable (I can totally relate). Us quilters value all those scraps of time from quilters before us. I am happy for you that you are ample enough in this regard that you can share your wealth! 🙂 You have the winning plan!

  9. I like your “finish them up” plan for 2017. I have several UFOs in my sewing room that I would really love to get back to and finish (along with other projects not yet started). Hoping to make 2017 the year of finishes!

  10. I’m thinking linking along the same lines as you. I have a few unfinished projects and two new quilts I know I need to make. I want to get as many older projects finished as I can this year. Happy New Year and quilt on!

  11. My goal this year was to finish some WIP’s and I did get 3 queen size quilts assembled, quilted and gifted but there are still more to get out of the sewing room so I’m with you and will work on the pile and hopefully next year at this time will have a larger hole in the WIP’s pile done.

  12. Great plan and one that I need to adopt as well. I did pull out 6 project boxes to start with. I have yet to decide which one to start with, but thinking whichever one needs the least work will be the winner.

    • My problem is last time I decided to make progress on WIPs I started with all the smaller projects and have left myself with a lot of larger ones to do. LOL Silly me. Although that was a few years ago so I know I’ve accumulated some smaller projects again to work on so I can work my way up to the larger ones – or at least get a sense of accomplishment before diving into one of the projects that needs a lot of work.

  13. I too have been thinking that 2017 needs to be a year of WIP completion as well. I really do need to sew up a lot of my stash or “resource center” as a good friend calls it. There are so many things I want to complete. I just need to work my goal!

  14. Have you been looking at my sewing room? Sounds just like me, more fabric and patterns than I can use in a lifetime and people are always gifting me with UFOs and extra fabric! I would love to join you for a sew in! Count me in!

  15. I like the quilting “party hat” ,maybe I could make a mouse sized one, I might even be able to finish one :>)

Comments are closed.