Sunday sewing

Well – the blocks I was working on yesterday I love so much I think I’m going to have to keep that project for myself and not give it as a gift. 🙂   But that is okay because I have found a replacement project for the gift.  I had picked up the Winter 2016 issue of Quilts and More as I was headed to a doctor’s appointment in case I had to sit and wait a while.  I never got around to looking at it until last night and spied this lovely tumbling blocks table topper.

20161204_3

I love tumbling blocks designs.  This one was made from a package of precut hexagons but it has instructions /template to use 10″ squares so I have will pull some squares from Hoffman Bali Crackers (10″ squares) stash and get to work on this topper today which will finish about 20″.

I forgot I had actually done some online shopping the weekend after Christmas for some quilting goodies – some for gifts and some gifts for me which arrived yesterday.

The Fat Quarter Shop has some great Flash Sales on their website.  That’s where I got this tin set.  I love these Moda tins – so bright and colorful and very useful sizes for all the little knitting and sewing bits that need a home around here.  Of course some will be used as gifts and I found some cute little things to fill a couple of them with.

20161204_4

The box that looks like a crayon sized box —

20161204_5 That will go in one of the tins – they are band aids with sewing things printed on them like the five strips printed on the box.  Now how fun are those to include in a package for a quilting friend!    I also fell in love with the little Moda mini charms packet – that will go in another little tin as a gift.  The two fabric bags — the smallest one I think cost 22 cents on flash sale.  It’s nothing fancy but a cute little zipper bag nonetheless.  The Create fabric zippered bag was free for placing a flash sale order.  So time to refill the coffee cup and go search for the fabrics I want to use for the table topper.

 

