Another knitting finish

Yes the needles are flying here.  I did some cleaning and rearranging furniture while awaiting my new chair.  Part of the rearranging was to bring an old big bookshelf out of the sewing room and back into the living room so I could put the TV on top of it — raising the tv height so hopefully when reclining in said new chair, my line of sight would be through the correct part of my trifocals.  I think it worked.

However, that means everything off that bookcase is now piled on top of my sewing room table — and in the meantime I  decided that room needed a total overhaul.  I want more storage room IN the closet in that room so I need to pull a wooden shelving unit out of the closet and put it along a wall in the sewing room.  All this means much unloading of shelves, moving furniture about and finding everything a new home.  But that will be tomorrow’s project…. or next weekend’s.  🙂

So as for the knitting finish – I just cast off my third DaVinci Cowl.  Another one I love.  This whole pooling yarn thing is so addictive.

20161126_9

Goes perfect with my brown jacket.  Yep this one I keep for me.   I’ve got some yarn picked out from the stash to try another of Mary-Ann Lammers’ pooling designs.

This is Mary-Ann’s  design – DaVinci Cowl III Spanish Steps  (photo used with permission)

davinci-cowl-iii-spanish-steps and there’s a companion design that uses the same color yarn since you have plenty to make both with just one hank of each color (perfect for making one for yourself and one to give away).  I like the lacy edging on this one and the tassels.

And I also have some yarn plans to her  KISS Cowl A Tucked Hood.  Love the look of this pattern.

kiss-cowl-a-tucked-hood

(Photo used with permission)

I like that its a cowl but you can also pull it up as a hood if needed (and you know where I live it can often be needed).  I plan to use this Madelinetosh speckled for the main yarn and then make the tucks different colors using this yarn.

project planner.JPG

Yes – I need another pair of hands to get all this stuff done but I don’t really have any deadlines.  The other projects I’m knitting for the Indie Gift Along have a deadline if you want to win prizes but I’m just joining in for fun (though I did win a random trivia question today and got to choose a free pattern!).

Oh and I tried out my air fryer for dinner tonight.  I popped my Cornish hen into it after marinating it and 20 minutes or so later — check this out.

20161126_7

The skin was really crispy and the meat juicy.   Delicious.

 

 

 

 

7 comments on “Another knitting finish

    • It’s interesting to use – I haven’t made much in it yet (only frozen French fries and Cornish hen) but it’s like having a mini convection oven (I think the “fryer” in the name confuses most people cause it’s really not frying). The French fries were good – better than when I do them in the oven – but not as good as my favorite restaurant fries but that is because they weren’t drenched in oil. I don’t ever make French fries in oil at home anyway (don’t want the apt smelling like oil) so for cooking for just me – it’s a good little machine and I think it will be especially nice not to have to turn the oven on for a small item and it’s much quicker to cook something. Tonight I’m going to try some frozen eggrolls in it.

    • Yes it’s new. I had been contemplating getting one and tasted some of the food a friend had made in hers and then friend Judy L got one that she liked which happened to be the same model my other friend had, so that clinched it for me since they both had the Phillips brand one I had been thinking about getting.

Leave a Reply

