DaVinci Cowls

 

Yes – I’m talking cowls – not the DaVinci Code book or movie (though I did just rewatch the movie not long ago.)

Let’s just state the obvious – if you’ve read my blog for a while (okay not even a long while) you have realized I love lovely yarns.  Hand painted yarns are so pretty but I’m not really in a sock knitting mood so what to do with a lovely hank of hand painted yarn.   Some of these lovelies are so perfect for the cowl designs of a designer I came across on Ravelry not long ago.

I love the pooling that some of these yarns do but until now my pooling has been purely by chance — the yarn just happened to pool here or there due to the yarn I was using and what I was making.  But now I have learned how to purposely make them pool through the designs of Mary-Ann Lammers.

The cowl pattern I am currently working on is her  DaVinci Cowl Villa Borghese Park .  This is what Mary-Ann’s finished cowl looks like

mary-ann-lammers

© Mary-Ann Lammers  (photo used with permission)

I love the button finish too.   So I went stash diving and pulled out several different yarns.

This is the one I ended up deciding to use for this pattern.  This was a bonus yarn I received for completing Camp Loopy back in 2013.

20161119_1

Two things about this yarn (1) it’s about time it came out of the stash into the light of day and (2) it’s got PINK in it!  If you’re a regular blog reader you know that “I don’t do pink.”  I don’t wear it, I don’t quilt with it, I don’t knit with it…..but ….. there are times where I try to convince myself to like pink and I think when I chose my camp reward yarn, I must have been in one of those moods where I decided to try pink again.  Now honestly, I do like the way the three shades of pink in this yarn are knitting up.

This cowl is tubular in shape so here’s what I have knit since casting on Wednesday night.

20161119_18

This is one side with the mostly green and pinks

20161119_16

And this is the other side with the pink shades and gold and only a hint of green sneaking in .  The pattern lays out all the information on how to make your chosen yarn stack the colors and this is proving to be a very quick and easy knit.

My plan is to put buttons on both sides of the cowl – stitching from the button on one side through to a similar button on the opposite side so that my cowl will be two sided and I can wear it with either side as the right side.

My first project of Mary-Ann’s was the DaVinci Cowl.   This is Mary-Ann’s version.

mary-ann-lammers2s

 

I started out really well.

 

But then I ran amok.  I was happily knitting along on the bus one night staring out the window and not really paying attention to what I was doing and I let my colors that were stacking so nicely (top of photo below), take a severe turn  (bottom of photo below).🙂

20161119_5

I had knit an inch or two before I realized what I was doing and I really did not want to rip it back to fix it.  So I just continued  to let it do what it wanted to without intervention so the top half of this cowl is proper DaVinci style and the bottom – well it’s quite dizzying to the eye actually but it will be a fun double loopy cowl to wear — adding a pop of color to this plain black blouse.

20161119_13

As I was searching for yarn to make the Villa Park project, I came across this hank of yarn.

20161119_10It’s Three Irish Girls  McClellan Fingering in the colorway Cornucopia.  The colors are actually richer than in my photo – my Ravelry stash photo shows them better –

but my plans for this are to make another DiVinci  Cowl and this time not run amok and keep my colors in line.🙂

Seriously, these are fun, well-written patterns and a great way to get a different look with those hand painted yarns so if you like the pooling and manipulation of your hand painted yarns, I highly recommend checking out Mary-Ann Lammer’s designs and come join me in the “pool”.  (I know, I know – very bad pun).  🙂

 

 

 

 

6 comments on “DaVinci Cowls

  1. I think your DaVinci turned out wonderful. That Cornucopia colorway is to die for. I can’t wait to see it knit up!

    • Thanks – Yes I can’t wait to try out the Cornucopia and see how that pools — perhaps that will be a new cast on for Thanksgiving Day knitting – Cornucopia seems aptly named for that.

Comments are closed.