Happy Saturday Morning

The sun is shining and it’s a crisp feeling fall morning here.  But I can’t believe it’s November 12 and we are still having warming temps than normal.  We were supposed to finally get our first hard freeze last night and from the look of the hostas outside, it definitely happened.   But loving this fall weather and looks like the next week will be more of the same so I’m glad about that.

With my sitting around most evenings with my leg elevated due to the leg ulcer, I’ve been getting a lot of knitting done – who am I kidding – I knit nearly every evening anyway but this is sort of a good reason not to go do something else but sit and knit instead.

I have finished a couple more items this week.   Here’s another cowl I made for Laura Aylor’s Cowl-Along – another from her SSC pattern.  I fell in love with this hank of Plymouth Baby Alpaca Grande Hand Dye – love colors in it. bag144_small2_medium Only one hank left so I had to make the most of my limited yardage.  This stuff is so soft and in a bulky yarn, it took no time at all to knit up.

Here’s the right side

20161112_4

and here’s the wrong side – it could be worn either way and each side has a bit of a different look way the colors show up.

20161112_3

And I also fell in love with this colorway of the same yarn.  plymouthbabyalpagrandhandyeyarn141_small2_mediumI was able to get two hanks of this but have only used one so far to make this Across the Heath cowl – you can find the pattern on Ravelry.  It’s super easy and I love the way the purl and knits spiral up the cowl.  I need to give this a bit of a shot of steam to block the edges but love how this turned out and need to decide if I’m gifting this one (and need to make another for me) or decide what else to use the other hank for.

20161112_2

If you are a beginning knitter (or more experienced just looking for a fun quick project) either of these two patterns would be perfect and in bulky yarn, they knit up so quickly.

Then I came across a hat pattern which I liked the look of.   I as a rule don’t wear hats – long cowls or scarfs or shawls will get pulled up over my head but I seldom wear a hat.  However I wanted to try out the Rikke Hat (also on Ravelry of course) and am making it to match the cowl I made for myself.

20161112_1

The cowl at the top of the photo is using just one strand of yarn.  For the hat at the bottom I’m using two strands of yarn – one of the colorway that has the blue, green and gray in it and then the other strand is the colorway that is just light to dark shades of only gray.  I like how it’s looking.   I can’t remember how much of this yarn I bought but I’m hoping I may have some more hidden away so that I can make matching mittens.

So off to go see if I have tidied the sewing room enough – a friend is coming to sew today and we need a bit of room to work.

Later I will update my finished knits/yarn knit to date totals adding in these latest finishes.  Good thing I decided not to keep track of yarn coming in this year because this week so a bunch of colorful lovey hanks arrive — I’ll tell you about my plans for those later.