Monday – 10-17-16

Well I did accomplish some cleaning last Friday but mostly I decided – it’s a vacation day from work so I didn’t want to work too hard. :-)  I never did get back into the sewing room to finish cleaning there but I will work on that this week.

On the design wall — still the same Points of View blocks as the one I showed October 2 – there’s been no sewing going on but I hope to remedy that before the end of the week.

20161001_1

I did spend a lot of time over the past three days knitting on the Laura Aylor big lace shawl test knit and finally just after midnight (this morning) finished it and got all the fringe on.  I’m just waiting to lay it out and give it a bit of a steam to block it before trying to get some photos.  The steam should open up the lace a bit – I don’t want to totally wet block it because the weather is (yet again!) wet and damp so it would take forever to dry.   I ended up using about 1,400 yards for the shawl (that will look nice when I add it to my yarn knit to date tally).   I just need to wait for the water softener salt delivery guy to make this deliver today before I lay it out on the living room floor – don’t want people traipsing around or over it.

After I finished that off I moved on to another Laura Aylor project – Whim.  I really like how this one is looking in the yarn I chose.  I’ve got about half the bind off done so that one will be off the needles later today too so I’ll have some finished projects to share soon.

And with projects being finished – that must mean I need to start some new ones right?  I’m just planning new ones at the moment since Laura Aylor’s (yes I like her designs can you tell?) next KAL will be a “One for you / one for a gift cowl-along” of her cowl patterns.  I took advantage of her sale in connection with the upcoming KAL and added a couple cowl patterns I had wanted to my Rav library.  The KAL starts 10/21 – you can find info on all her KALs through her Ravelry group.   After 1,400 yards of knitting on that shawl – I’ll be happy to knit a few bulky weight cowls that will knit up quickly. :-)  So now I need to print the patterns and then figure out what yarns to match up with what patterns.

Now to get a few chores done, start some laundry and then maybe I can get back into the sewing room this afternoon to continue the clean out of that room.

One comment on “Monday – 10-17-16

Comments are closed.