Electric Quilt Kaleidoscopes

EQ has a flash sale today on their Kaleidoscope software and I decided to get it to add to my software.  Now I generally don’t like paper piecing blocks, but I love intricate kaleidoscope blocks and for me those need to be paper pieced.    As with all EQ products, I think I’m going to have great fun with this software.   I’ve got the day off – and I had hoped to get lots done around here – but I’ve been playing with this and that instead.  I need to turn off the computer now and go accomplish a couple chores but after the five minutes or so it took to download the program, I popped just a couple blocks into a layout just to see how they looked side by side and if any secondary patterns emerged.

Here’s a couple images I was playing with.

kal1

kal2

kal4

kal3

The last one reminds me of a Christmas Cactus plant.  Yes I think I’m going to have some fun with this program and drawing some of my own kaleidoscope blocks.

 

On the Needles – Friday 9/30/16

The end of September already – and it definitely feels like a fall day. Cooler temps (which I love) but dark and overcast.  At least it hasn’t started raining today….. yet.  But an overcast day was what I needed to finally get a decent photo of this shawl which I finished last weekend.20160930_5

It’s Summer Camp by Laura Aylor – the second one I’ve made.  Great for using variegated yarn in and one of those patterns that you can knit until you use up nearly all your yarn.  20160930_4Great tv knitting project.20160930_3

The two yarns in this were purchased in 2012 and 2013 so time I finally brought them out into the light of day.

I just have a couple rows left on the Red TGV shawlette I showed last week before I need to cast off so hopefully will finish that one off as well this weekend.  The red cowl I showed last post  has been gifted to a friend as a birthday present.

I cast on another simple cowl (they make great gifts so good to have a few in reserve) with some new yarn from TLE – Blue Moon Fiber Arts “Crackpaca” – it’s a merino, alpaca and silk blend and called “Crackpaca” because it’s “crack” for knitters — it feels so incredibly soft and I think will make a great feeling cowl.  Although I want to start over on a slightly larger needle for this yarn.

20160930_8

check out what other knitter’s have on their needles a Judy’s On the Needles link up.