Camp Loopy Projects 3

Today is the start of Camp Loopy shopping week and the announcement of what the challenge will be for August.

I had done some planning ahead of time – based on yarn yardage requirements and fabric yardage requirements for past Camp years’ project 3 and I was able to make those items work for the actual challenge requirements.

fab3

These are the fabrics I got for the fabric challenge.  The challenge is:

Theme: Faraway Lands. The challenge this month is to incorporate a different country into your project. You can do that by using a pattern by a designer who lives in a different country, or you can pick a pattern or block named for (or celebrating) something in a different country, or you can pick colors that remind you of a place in a different country. Your project must use a minimum of 4 yards in this single project.

I chose fabrics – a short stack and some other half yard cuts – of the Moda “Juniper Berry” fabric line and two Kona solids to go with them.  The fabric to the right of the short stack is my favorite print in the fabric line – you can’t see it in the image but there’s reindeer and squirrels among those trees.  You can see it up close here at The Loopy Ewe.   That print in the light background is included in the short stack so I got it on the dark brown background too.  It reminds me of a Scandinavian postcard a friend had sent me once.  And if that’s not enough to tie it to the challenge, Juniper Berries are commonly used in German cuisine (which reminds me of my trip to Germany at Christmas time) so you can always find a way to tie in a challenge if you try.🙂

I’ll be making a Christmas tree skirt, possibly  using my large wedge ruler which I haven’t done much with but have had for ages, and adding some prairie points around the edges perhaps.

Or I may revamp this design – which I like but for the fabrics I chose I need to add a few more piecing sections to some of the areas – since I wouldn’t be using any real big prints – and in order to mix in more of my fabrics.treeskirtpossible

I’ll tell you about my knitting Camp project another day since I keep changing my mind on what I want to make – but my yarn is ordered.🙂