April Monthly Mixers both finished…

I’m making great progress on many projects this weekend (which means I may need to give the sewing room a tidying up today since I’ve been tossing things around as I worked in there).

So here’s two finishes.  Both The Loopy Ewe (TLE) April Monthly Mixer projects (fabric and yarn) had the theme of making something using a pattern from one of your favorite designers.

For my knitting project – I chose a Susan Ashcroft (Stitchnerd Designs on Ravelry) cowl pattern called “Mistakes – I’ve Made a Few” which uses the “mistake rib” stitch.

ETA – this is actually my March knitting mixer not April as I previously listed above.  March criteria was to use a pattern or yarn or designer with “M” (for Mars) in it. – So the name of this pattern is what qualified it for March (even tho Stitchner Designs is one of my favorite designers too).

20160530_7

I started out using two strands of Bebop yarn held together.  In order to get a bit more width as I was running low on the Bebop, I added in a Loopy Solids yarn in Navy (which I think I received as one of the Loopy incentives at some point) so switched to one strand of each.  That’s where the pooling occurs along the bottom 2″ or so.  The Bebop has a small section of navy too but it evenly spaced the pooling all around the bottom edge in about six places and I like it.  I have a boring blue sweater so next winter I can wear this with it to liven it up.

For the April sewing Mixer – I made Bjorn Bear, an Elizabeth  Hartman design from her Craftsy Class “Patchwork Piecing Woodland Animals.”  It was a very fun little project to make.  I used it as a practice quilting piece to try out a few different filler stitches from another Craftsy Class on machine quilting  “Free Motion Quilting Essentials.”

20160530_9

I like how he turned out and am looking forward to trying the other animal pattern from the class which is Dwight Deer.

4 comments on “April Monthly Mixers both finished…

  1. I really like Bjorn Bear. The quilting nicely compliments him and brings out his features. Really hip glasses. Want to see Dwight Deer, too.

Comments are closed.