On and Off The Needles

I’ve been trying to play “catch up” on a few projects before Camp Loopy starts next week and I have had some success.

This week I finished off my Zen Pleats Cowl which is my TLE Montly Mixer project for April.

20160528_3

The theme for the April mixer was to use a pattern from a favorite designer.  I love Stitchnerds Designs (Susan Ashcroft).  Many of her patterns are simple but with great textures (like this one) and all the ones I have made (or have on the needles) are great tv knit of knitting.  Zen Pleats was made in Finito yarn so it is incredibly soft and snuggly.   I may need to start another one of these in a solid color where the texture should really pop for an upcoming gifting opportunity.

After finishing that cowl earlier this week, I pulled out my March Mixer project – Movie Night Socks.  For March you needed to somehow include the letter “M” for Mars.  So you could use a yarn line or color that started with “M”, use a pattern with “M” in it, etc.  I had been a bit concerned by how much yarn the socks were eating up and I was less than half way through the foot so I weight the sock and the yarn that was left and had already used more than half.  I also think I had made the sock a bit too large. Since I wasn’t loving how the sock was turning out anyway, I decided last night to rip it back and find a different project.

Again I went off to look at Stitchnerds patterns checking out what patterns she had that might fit the “M” theme.  And there was “Mistakes – I’ve Made a Few.”   Perfect!  Another simple cowl with a great texture.  The texture won’t be seen well from afar in mine because of all the crazy bright colors in the TLE Exclusive Bebop colorway but the texture should help stop pooling.  The pattern is also written for heavier weight yarn so I’m using my fingering weight doubled.  Don’t know how wide I’ll be able to make the cowl with the yarn I have but time will tell.

20160528_10

I want it more for the pop of color it will add to a winter coat or plain sweater on a drab winter day (and it will pop let me tell you) than for a “it’s 30 below keep me warm” kind of cowl.

I also have the second sleeve for my green sweater nearly finished – only about a dozen more rows to go.  So lots of knitting in the evenings here this week.

One last photo for now – in between rain storms – the hill outside is again blooming like crazy with what I refer to as the “purple stink flowers”.  :-)  It smells like a perfume factory exploded outside my door and for a person with allergies, that’s most annoying.

20160528_11

 

One comment on “On and Off The Needles

  1. Your cowl is beautiful, I love the texture. I have only knit one cowl but loved wearing it, more so than a scarf. I hope to do another later this summer: winter comes later here in the South.

Comments are closed.