The Loopy EweMay Monthly Mixer

If you’ve been following along you know that I’ve been doing the Monthly Mixer projects at The Loopy Ewe.   I’ve actually completed two of the knitting ones, and hmm don’t think I’ve completed any of the fabric ones yet but I’ve got several of them in the works.

I’m not planning to do the yarn mixer this month (other things I want to finish knitting before Camp Loopy starts) but I do plan to do the fabric mixer.  The only requirement for the May mixer is it has to be made out of batik fabrics only.  You know I love batiks!

Hence the new order for  these fabrics.

batiks  I actually only ordered FQs or quarter yards of most of them but I needed some new ones to mix into the stash and fill out certain color families.

Now there’s no yardage requirement to meet  for this mixer and no deadline by which to finish so that’s easy, but why is it that the project I’m contemplating is a queen size (or maybe a bit larger since I haven’t checked the measurements) quilt!  I could make something smaller but I need a second wedding quilt (first one I’m working on is Barn Dance) and I’m thinking my plan for these batiks will be that wedding quilt – hence the size.

I came across a free pattern on the Benartex site called New Directions by Janet Page Kessler.  I really like it – it’s a simple design and would be great to use a huge array of batiks in.  The original design was for a smaller project – two rows and not as long –  so I did some playing in EQ to basically double the width and added more rows to get the length I might like and here’s what a quick mock up of it looks like.     So for the moment this is my plan – but  I really need to finish machine quilting another wedding quilt that has now passed the one year anniversary mark!  I cannot start on this one until I get Barn Dance blocks set together and that other one quilted… …. (even tho I really want to start on this one).

newdirectionsinspired.JPG

 

6 comments on “The Loopy EweMay Monthly Mixer

    • I suppose jelly roll friendly all depends on your personal preference and how small a project you want. If you go to the Benartex site you can look at the pattern instructions and decide for yourself.

Comments are closed.