Hot pepper flakes and honey?

One of my coworkers had brought in some black bean and corn salsa to share at the office which was so delicious.   I normally don’t eat black beans (kidney beans, pinto beans, etc.) but the salsa is very addicting.  I got to thinking about it one day last week and have been craving it ever since.  Last week I thought I had bought everything to make it and when I went to pull out everything to mix it up, I had no black beans.  Dang!

So I have now procured black beans and set to chopping.  Actually I didn’t work too had at the chopping because I have one of these choppers, which I love.

20160416_5It’s one of those where you just close the lid ad push on it to send foods through the chopping grid.  I used the smaller one (which is in place) for the salsa but to the right you can see the larger grid that can be swapped in.

You can find a similar chopper in Walgreen’s in the “as seen on tv” section but I got this one at Aldi’s and it was much cheaper and the exact same thing.

So far it’s been good for everything I wanted to chop.  Last time I made applesauce I peeled and quartered the apples and used the large chopper grid to put them thru so it wouldn’t take as long to cook.  Worked great.

Anyway – it helped make quick work of this stuff

20160416_3

I had looked at several recipes on line and pretty much they have the same major ingredients so I decided to just wing it.   Red pepper, , green pepper, red onion, the bottom are tomatoes put thru the chopper – I used sweet red grape tomatoes and golden sunburst tomatoes.  Those little tomatoes are great to use – don’t have to worry about seeding them and you can see there’s some juice in the bottom of the container but I drained that out so my salsa wouldn’t be too wet.  I used frozen supersweet corn (which I of course thawed) and black beans.    Lemon juice, red pepper flakes, black pepper  and honey.

 

I had to have a taste test and it is going to be great tho I might have added a few too many pepper flakes — or it could have been the tortilla chips since they are from a fantastic local restaurant that sells their chips in the local stores and they have some seasoning on them that is just delicious.  Best tortilla chips ever.

20160416_7I may have to have a little bit of it to hold me over to dinner since I never ate lunch.

But now there are those bananas I took out of the freezer to defrost.  Banana bread, banana chocolate chip muffins  – not sure what I’ll make them into but they were taking up too much room in the freezer and I had other stuff I needed to get in there.

One more photo – I didn’t get all the way through the lace at the top of my sweater back last night but made good process nonetheless.  Only one or two more repeats to go but I really like this lace pattern.

20160416_12

2 comments on “Hot pepper flakes and honey?

  1. I’ve never seen a chopper like this. Do you know what it’s called? Thanks

    >

Comments are closed.