Saturday, April 9, 2016

I shan’t talk about the cold winds and snow flurries flying about the past couple days – it’s April in Wisconsin – that’s what it does.  One day you don’t need a coat – the next it snows.

This week I have stopped and started and restarted and changed patterns, changed needle sizes, switched to double stranded — yes a knitting project that is just not cooperating but I think I have finally tamed it today.  I wanted a long rectangular scarf in lace weight yarn to go with a sweater.  I didn’t like the first two patterns I tried, needle size was too large.  Decided maybe I didn’t really like lace weight yarn so tried it doubled.  Didn’t care for that or the pattern I tried.   Finally went back to single strand, smaller needle and a different pattern.  Restarted that three times – once thinking I had messed up, second time when I got to the same spot I realized the pattern has several things amiss in it.  I figured out what was wrong and restarted again only to decided I didn’t like the little three stitch border on it and really liked the look of someone else’s project in Ravelry that had a wider edging.  What the heck – ripped it back again.  If I’m going to be knitting 90 or so inches of this I want to love it when it’s done.  Here it is before I ripped it back the last time to make the edging wider.20160409_2

I’ve cast on again and have the first chevron repeat section finished so on to the second one.  One good thing with all this restarting – I now have the pattern memorized so can just read my knitting as I go and not have to follow the written instructions.

20160409_5

This evening I finished off another pile of Hole in the Barn Door blocks.   Here’s all my 6″ blocks so far — I’ve tallied them up and I need to make just three more and then I can move on to the next size.  So if you are stitching along on this one, look for a new block size instruction to be posted soon.

2 comments on “Saturday, April 9, 2016

  1. My knitting goes about like that. That’s going to be a pretty scarf. Will have to watch for it.

  2. Cracked up over your knitting. Sorry if it was at your expense. Anyway, I’d say you are persistent! Good job!

Comments are closed.