Happy National Quilting Day!

Will you be quilting today?   I usually try to put out a free little pattern in honor of National Quilting Day but it snuck up on me this year.  However, you can find a couple past NQD projects still available if you check the listing of file downloads available.

One of the very first ones I did was Tools of the Trade which was designed for a yahoo quilting group.

Here’s the EQ image of it. This one is just the EQ download file (so you must have EQ6 or EQ7 to download it);the rest are all pdf files.

ttblurg

And here is my finished version of it.

1001050006It’s simple but still one of my favorites.  I love the big quilting needle in the upper right border and the blue thread that is “quilted” (appliqued) in that border.   The border fabric is one of my favorites – all kinds of buttons with some metallic glitz thrown in and metallic thread used to embroider the pins in the pincushion with bead heads.   I haven’t had that one up and hanging for a while – I may have to go get it out.

The 2012 design was the NQD Five Square Quilt.

square

And here’s my version of it …. hmmm can’t remember if that one was ever quilted or not – will have to check into that.

5squarequilt

Stacked Spools was 2010

mystackedspools

and 2011 was Stepping Stones

quiltimage

I’ll be working on quilting-related things later today.  I’ve got a new pattern to write up for Hoffman California Fabrics.

I’ve got a bit of tidying up to finish in the sewing room since I was rearranging things in there last weekend.

I’ve want to get the latest posted Barn Dance blocks cut so I can start stitching on them.

But I need to get started on some other chores first and just remembered I need to take some photos since I haven’t shown what’s on the Needles this week and there’s some lovely fabric I ordered for a bed quilt for ME, yes I said ME, that has arrived.   And I know you’ll be shocked and amazed when you see there’s some “pink” in some of those fabrics.  I think my dislike of the color pink is on the wane since I’m knitting a pink sweater and now I’ve bought some pink fabric. :-)  So I’ll show you those later.

 

 

One comment on “Happy National Quilting Day!

Comments are closed.