Beebop and Silver Figs

And you’re thinking with a blog post title like that just what the heck am I talking about, right?   I’m talking yarn of course.🙂

Today is sock washing day and as I was going thru all the hand knit socks (a few which I threw in the dryer in the past and really shouldn’t have)  I decided I should get some more socks going so that come next winter I’ll have some new ones in the sock drawer.   Because you know I don’t have enough sock yarn (yes – I know that’s a lie), I had to order some more.  Beebop and Silver Figs are the two colors I ordered.   Some sock yarns get such fun names.

This year at The Loopy Ewe each month they have Blue Moon Fibers dying a specific color way of yarn in different weights based on a photograph the shop owners husband (a professional photographer) has taken.  You get a card along with the yarn that shows the photo it was based on.  Last month’s was the first one and I loved the colors in the yarn but I waited too long to order.  This month I kept putting some in my cart and taking I out.  Finally I decided  just to order it.

beebop and figsBeebop is the one of the left.  Easter egg colored socks?  The yarn on the right I’ve put in my cart and then taken out so many times so it finally is coming to me this time too – I just love the combination of grays, purple and green and it’s in one of my favorite yarns – Juliespins – and that’s the Silver Figs color.

Now I need to go check out the socks I already have on the needles. I think one pair is nearly done so I should finish those off.

 

But I’m off to do some fabric cutting — I posted the first size block for the Barn Dance quilt and hope to have all the blocks I need for that size stitched by the end of the day….. If you join in this QAL, I’d love to see photos of your blocks so please upload them to the flicker group and you can also see project photos made by others using my pattern designs uploaded there.  The link to the group is in the blog sidebar.