On the Needles – 2/13/16

May I first say BRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!  It’s been a cold week waiting at the bus stop but I’m glad I’m not out there this am.  The temperature is somewhere below zero, it’s very windy, so the wind chill is….. well I don’t know what it is but they were predicting 20-30 below.  Nope I’m not venturing out today. This weekend is the annual Winter Festival – which always seems to fall on the coldest weekend of the year — great for helping the  ice and snow sculpture contests from dealing with melting issues — not so great for ski races or people standing around watching all the activities.  I will NOT be among them.

As for On and Off the Needles — I have another sweater completed – except for the blocking. Got my CF Turks and Caicos pullover seamed last weekend.  I seamed and added the neckline trim before blocking so it needs a good bath and blocking and then I’ll get a photo of it.

I had ordered yarn for my next CF but in the meantime couldn’t resist casting on a different sweater while awaiting arrival of that yarn – a CF version of Unbalanced.  The link is to my Rav page but you can find the link on that page to see what the  original Unbalanced sweater actually looks like.  Stripes on one side of front of the cardigan sweater and opposite sleeve.  This project I cast on last Saturday and it has been my bus knitting project.  I’m just a row away from starting the underarm bindoffs.

20160213_10

The yarn is Lion Brand Cotton-Ease – very inexpensive yarn (and even more so because I got it at a great sale price) and totally machine wash and dry.  When I machine washed and dried my swatch there was absolutely no gauge change in it.  This sweater also feels so light in weight compared to my Charlie’s Cardigan which was worsted wool – that is a heavy sweater. It’s looking gray in the photo but the swatch on my Rav page is the true color.

The new yarn arrived – Blue Moon Targhee Worsted in  Strawberry Rhubarb Pie colorway.

20160213_1Check out that hank of yarn and the ball it makes.  It’s sitting on a foot square cutting mat but doesn’t really capture the size of that ball of yarn.  I had to finish hand winding it because the over 600 yard hanks are way to big to entirely wind on my ball winder.  But I love the fact that there will be so few ends to weave in on my sweater. True color (always elusive in my photos) is a little darker than the swatch.

20160213_8.

Here’s a close up of the design at the top of my swatch.

20160213_9

I’m going to make anther button front cardigan similar in style to my Charlie’s Cardigan but instead of the chevrons in the front of Charlie’s – each side of the button band will have this wandering vine and leaf section – this is just one repeat of the pattern (the top of the leaf on the lower left would repeat at the top of the vine on the left above it.  I need to generate my CF pattern for this sweater and then figure out how many repeats I need to get up to the neckline so I can end the design like I want.  I may also put several of these vines up the center of the back of the sweater.  The vine design is taken from a free scarf pattern on Ravelry called Daphne.

Off to soak and block my Turks and Caicos.

 

 

One comment on “On the Needles – 2/13/16

Comments are closed.