Afternoon productivity – 1/16/16

I have been busy and now I have a completed pile of all the pieces for my Charlie’s Cardigan.  Just like with quilting, there is a part of knitting that is my least favorite.

In quilting – it’s the layering and pinbasting of a quilt.  I procrastinate forever doing that and once I get started, I always wonder why I procrastinate so much.  (Maybe it’s because my sewing table is usually a mess so I have to tidy all that up before I can start layering a quilt on it.)

The same sort of step in the process of knitting is my nemesis too.  It’s the blocking.  Once I get started it doesn’t take long so I don’t know why I procrastinate on that too.  However, I’m seeing a familiar thread (no pun intended) running through these tasks – I block on the sewing room table too.  I sometimes move the block boards to the floor once it’s all pinned down but I usually do the pinning on the table since my knees just don’t like crawling around on the floor or trying to reach things if I put the blocking mats on the bed.

Here’s what my sewing table looks like.  It’s been worse – the tub of yarn can go back it eh closet and my little step stool can get put away and the featherweight put in the closet – half the battle.  But I am going to deal with this mess soon and get my sweater laid out on the blocking mats tonight.

20160116_6

The sweater is in the sink for a soak with some “Soak”- I love using Soak for my hand knits, makes them feel nice and you don’t need to rinse it out.  After I finish getting dinner started, I’ll get to pinbasting.

I’m the meantime, I just took the second pan of Mexican Wedding Cake cookies out of the oven – and after having a taste test, declared them delicious.  I stuck the rest of the dough in the fridge to bake at some other time since I needed to get my Chicken Chablis and baked potatoes into the oven.  Yum, one of my favorite dinners.

Tonight I need to sort through these containers…20160116_8

One of them should have my Stonington sweater in it (which I started for the CustomFit Deep Winter KAL last year so I want to see where I left off.  I think I was on the first sleeve.  Also need to see what else might be tucked away in the bottom of those baskets.

Oh and guess who came to visit the feeder this afternoon — Stumpy was back!  He brought along a friend who had a fully, regular length tail to eat with him so at least he’s not an outcast with that short stubby tail.

20160116_4

And the more I look at those tree panels, the more they are growing on me.  I still would have liked them more like the image but they are still pretty cool.   Dang I wish I would have brought those other fabrics home last night that go with them….oh well….I have plenty to keep me busy without playing with that project yet.

