Loopy Legend, Denise’s Gannets, Sweater finished

This afternoon, coffee cup and little bowl of chocolates at my side, I finally finished the side/underarm seams on my sweater.  The yarn was my Loopy Legends yarn dyed for me according to an inspiration photo – this bird is a Gannet.


gannet-bird-1366x768

I started the sweater August 30, 2015, — it’s a CustomFit pattern called Afterlight.  I wanted just a simple pull over that I could toss on with my jeans around the house.

This is the yarn based on that photo:

denisegannetsloopylegend

I didn’t want to bother with alternating hanks of yarn so decided it would be my “pooling” experiment.  I got several different types of pooling.  The widest swatch of pooling is on the back and if I were choosing placement, right across my backside would not be where I’d put it but it is what it is.  🙂

I need to bury a few ends and block it but here’s what it looks like right now.

20151225_9 I have jeans the same bluey/gray color as in the yarn but I was way to lazy to put those on for the photo.   Fingering weight yarn – tho it takes longer of course to knit a sweater in it – is a great weight sweater to wear.  The Lorna’s Laces Loopy Legends have a nice bit of drape – which helped create the bit of gathers at the bottom of the vee neck.  The vee neck is ribbed and then finished with a little rolled stockinette edging.

I updated my “Knit the Stash” page with this finished project.  Over 2,000 more yards of yarn added to the “knit” list.   I have converted those yarns knit/woven to date to miles – because I like seeing how many miles it converts to and so far I have FINISHED knitting/weaving nearly 12 and one half miles of yarn.

yards

8 comments on “Loopy Legend, Denise’s Gannets, Sweater finished

  1. Your sweater looks very nice. I imagine it took more than one skein of your special yarn? I ordered the Mallard color yarn of an earlier year and am waiting to decide what it will be used in.

  2. Your knitting is amazing and the results are lovely. Wishing you a very happy
    year to come and I’m looking forward to seeing your new projects.

  3. Beautiful sweater. I love the length of the sleeves. Wonderful colors in the yarn and fits nicely. Be proud of your accomplishment.

  4. Love the sweater. Enjoy your time off and the holiday season. Sitting with a few chocolates and knitting sounds fun!

Comments are closed.