On the Needles – November 27, 2015

Let’s start with off the needles first.   I spent the majority of the day in my jammies knitting yesterday.   I finally decided to finish off a long vest I had started last December. It only needed the side seams sewn and then icord applied to both armholes.  Icord is boring to do but I popped in an old favorite movie and kept at it and the vest is done.

DSCN4763Here’s the close up of the yarn — the true colors are slightly darker -the colors look more Easter Egg color in this photo and overall the colors loom more fallish – sort of an overall golden cast to them –  but it’s the best photo.  The vest refuses to photograph true to color.

DSCN4759

CF Luau Vest – S 12-21-14 F 11-27-15

I love this yarn and it’s short little color changes and am glad I have some leftover I didn’t use for this vest – plus I also bought a couple hanks in fingering weight yarn too since I loved it so much.  Haven’t decided what I’ll do with that yet.  But the vest is finally done.

I’ve updated the Knitting the Stash page with photos too and updated the yardage used.

Now it is Black Friday, and there are Black Friday sales at several online shops I shop at, but they are not enticing me as much as in the past.  I was waiting for Miss Babbs’ sale but it is not the same type of sale as she has had in the past so I didn’t need anything there afterall.  ESK – usual sale where you don’t know your percentage off until after you check out. Again, nothing really enticed me and I wasn’t buying yarn without a purpose.   But TLE was of course having a sale as well so I purposely didn’t buy some yarn I was looking at – which has a purpose – in the hopes that it might be on sale.  I wanted Cascade 220 yarn and TLE has all their worsted and heavier weight yarns on sale.    I’ve used Cascade 220 to make felted projects but I wanted to try a cardigan out of it.  I haven’t decided for sure which pattern but it’s between these three:

CF Charlie’s Cardigan or maybe Burnish  or Hemmingway

cascade - opalThe yarn color I chose is called Opal – it appears to be a sort of neutral tan color with just a hint towards the pinky/peach side.  I’m anxious to see how it looks in person but it appears to be a good neutral.

Ah – but I’ve digressed from “on and off the needles” to yarn buying (which has not yet been added into my yardage tally.

Anyway — on the needles at the moment – just a bit of sweater sleeve to finish – hopefully this afternoon.  But I decided I needed to cast on a smaller project and have been wanting to make the  Hurricane Ridge Cowl.  I had some longish color change yarn I wanted to try it with and found some leftovers from a shawl that would work with it.  Only problem was – I didn’t have the right size circular needles in the right lengths. So what to do – expect make do. I wanted just a single loop and not a real large one so I’m using the smaller needles and cast on the largest size.  I think it will turn out just the size I want but it’s much slower going on the smaller needles.  However – once you get a row or two in place, it’s a super simple project to knit without any markers.

20151127_3The bottom row is a provisional cast on because the cowl will be folded over and joined together with no right or wrong side.  It’s a very fun knit.  I think I may need to go searching this afternoon for a solid color to use with my leftover vest yarn and make one out of heavier yarn.

I’ve got maybe a half hour of weaving or less to go before my second scarf will be ready to come off the loom.  I think that will be this afternoon’s project to start with.

One comment on “On the Needles – November 27, 2015

  1. Your vest turned out very nice. I love the colors in your new on the needles cowl. The pattern looks intricate too. You had good will power from yarn buying during the Black Friday sales, it seems. Good for you.

Comments are closed.