Off the Loom – another self-striping yarn

Just finished cutting off the second scarf from the loom.   And that was partly  a bad thing since I wasn’t paying close enough attention and cut right through one of the ropes that holds one of the bars in place.  I can replace it but I just can’t believe I did that!  Forgot it was hidden among all the tie on ends of my yarn.  🙂

20151114_9As you may recall – this is the yarn I was using for both warp and weft.  It’s a self-striping yarn with long color changes so you get the effect of different striped warp yarns without actually having to use separate colored yarns.

 

And here it is finished.   The color of the yarn balls is the truest as to color.  The scarf on the hanger is showing up a bit darker than true and the one where is laying in folds is a bit lighter than true.  But no matter what shade of those colors it turned out, it looks quite good with my aqua colored polar fleece coat so I think I’ll keep this one for me…. maybe….

and now I can go add more yarn into my yarn used tally. 😉

 

scarf

scarf2Now I have to go figure out what else is for dinner.  I went grocery shopping earlier today (the grocery store was nearly empty – the little mall across the street had its parking lot jammed – I did not venture near there) 😉  I did a bad job of shopping since I forgot my list and got led astray by things that I know were not on my list.  I did buy a fresh turkey breast that was half the price today that it was yesterday.  So that has just come out of the oven and is resting a bit while I decide what else to make. I was just going to get a Cornish hen but the turkey was a better bargain and my favorite thing about a Thanksgiving meal is the leftover turkey sandwiches.  I detest deli sliced turkey – it’s not the same but will definitely be having my turkey sandwich tomorrow.

I’m greatly disappointed tho I forgot to get the cranberry sauce.  Oh well – I’ll have some  another day.  And I forgot the oil again — do you know that when there’s no oil in the house (other than a bit of olive oil) everything you want to make takes oil!   The muffins I was going to make yesterday morning for breakfast – no oil.  The pie crust I was going to make today – no oil.  Of course the bad part was I was also out of butter – I did remember to get that today.  Tomorrow I’ll just make the muffins with melted butter now that I have some and really I didn’t need pie so that’s okay.  But I think a bit of turkey, some left over acorn squash from yesterday and some stove top stuffing (since I didn’t pick up all the stuff needed to make the turkey dressing that is the norm in our family) and some fresh asparagus sounds very tasty.

2 comments on “Off the Loom – another self-striping yarn

Comments are closed.