Finishes, Middles, Starts…..

CF Featherweight KAL S 10/2014 - F 8/2015
CF Featherweight KAL
S 10/2014 – F 8/2015

Yes I have knitting projects in all those categories.

First, for the “Finishes”,  I have FINALLY finished my Customfit Featherweight Cardigan which was part of a KAL started October 21, 2014 and finished this month.  Of course there were many other projects started and even some finished within that time period.

The yarn in this sweater is Cascade Yarns, Heritage Silk – which is 85% Superwash Merino and 15% Mulberry Silk.  I love yarns with mulberry silk in them – even just a little bit makes it feel so nice and gives it such a great drape.   The sleeves are somewhere between elbow and 3/4 length.  I did make a bit of a change to the front so that it didn’t hang quite as open as the original Featherweight pattern and even tho it’s fingering weight yarn, and a lot of fingering weight yarn in my size, I was surprised how fast it knit up (when I was actually knitting on it and not other projects).  I definitely see more fingering weight sweaters in my future.

As for the “Middles” projects, again another CF project that I got sidetracked from because I kept hopping around on different projects.  I started this one April 2014.  This past week I seamed the shoulders, picked up and knit the seed stitch neckline, and seamed in the sleeve caps last night so just have the side seams from hem to end of sleeve left to seam.  I’m hoping to get that finished tonight.

cfskalI’m a bit leery about this one.  I added more repeats of a lace pattern across the front than originally planned and since I knit lace more loosely I think I may have totally mucked up my gauge.  Actually I’m sure I did.  But I used smaller needles to pick up the neck edge and knit it and knit it tightly to sort of hold all the top edges of that lace in place.  Plus, I’m thinking this one may grow in length with wear.  So I may end up with a baggy, too long sweater  or it may all be okay.  Time will tell.

This project is somewhere between “Middles” and “Starts” since it’s a SMKAL and I’m not sure how it will end up looking.  We got Clue 2 earlier this week and that’s where my natural background color is added to the side of the gradient strip we knit in Clue 1.

smkalI love the feel of squishy garter stitch – the perfect bus knitting and tv knitting type project, and I especially love it when the garter is going in multiple directions throughout the project.  I’ve just got a bit of a start on Clue 2 but hat natural yarn will carry out with decreases where the dark brown pointy end is to make a triangle.  It will be interesting to see what direction next weeks clue takes us.

And in the “starts” category – I just started this earlier this week.  It’s the start of my Spring Kerchief.

laceI forgot to take a photo of the two yarns I’ll be using.  It’s lace weight yarn but you use it double – making the first section with two strands of the same color (I need to enlage this section until that smaller ball on he right is used up.  This yarn is Tencel and is a bit slippery but is knitting up very nicely.  The second yarn that will go with it is 100% mulberry silk which is light shades of gray but with a hint of the same pinkish color that is the purple yarn so I think they will play nicely together (or at least in my mind’s eye they do).

I also made a bit of progress on my Woodwork scarf but haven’t bothered to take a photo since I have four inches of ribbing to knit (and the stitches on the needle are the lengthwise stitches so it takes a while to get up and down those rows) – so while my sewing room has been out of commission due to the flood, I’ve been very busy knitting and looking forward to adding my yardage for the featherweight into my “yards knit” tally.

Okay – now if you made it all the way to the end of this post, you may get rewarded if you are a knitter or crocheter.  I have one unused hank of Heritage Silk yarn left over from my featherweight sweater.  I know it will just linger in the stash since I’ve knit more than enough of that color. 🙂   I will ship it off to someone who wants to use it.  It’s fingering weight – 437 yards.

So…IF you are a knitter or crocheter and would like to be eligible for the randon number generator to pick you to win, leave a comment on this blog post stating (1) if you knit, crochet or both and (2) what project do you think you would use this yarn for?  I’ll pick a winner sometime on Sunday.  Sorry I forgot to put this in when I uploaded this blog post but you must be in the U.S. to be eligible – sorry but dealing with shipping overseas packages is truly a hassle with requiring me to actually go to a post office and we all know how crazy postage rates are too.       Updated 8/30/15 1:05 a.m. – winner chosen.

13 comments on “Finishes, Middles, Starts…..

  1. Your red sweater looks real nice. Glad you got it finished. Congrats to Sue for being a winner of a wonderful ball of yarn. I was out of town until Monday night, so I missed the opportunity to get in the drawing, but it will be great for socks or cowls.

  2. Oh wow, I would love to feel that skein! I knit while in vehicles like you and I did crochet earlier…..and will be starting up again as I want to teach two grands the happiness of both process and project . I too would like to make a scarf … but I have never tried socks…so….I am open! Thanks for the chance to win!

  3. I’m like Shelley, I’m both a knitter and crocheter,; it would make a beautiful Christmas present scarf.

    • What KAL are you talking about – I talk about more than one in that blog post but I’m going to assume it’s the Laura Aylor one and you will find that on Ravelry by going to the pattern page
      or going to Ravelry / Groups and finding “Laura’s Workshop” to find the KAL chat threads for this project.

Comments are closed.