Saturday progress

Well I have accomplished much more today than it seems I did yesterday.  More laundry done (boring), stack or two of boxes that I needed to flatten for recycling, and some other junk like that organized (really boring), shredded a stack or two of old bills and other papers (way boring but I’m so glad I bought a shredder).  I braved the heat and humidity to go to the grocery store (super boring – I absolutely hate grocery shopping and humidity each on their own, so combine the two and I’m surprised I ventured out to do it at all).  However, since I’ve needed to get to the grocery store for quite a while, I couldn’t put it off much longer.  I mean I actually had to drink instant coffee this a.m. which I usually keep around just for some recipes that use it for coffee flavoring,  as there was not a coffee bean or k-cup or bag of coffee anywhere to be found in my cabinets.  So a quick hop on the bus  and it wasn’t too bad going but it had just started sprinkling as I was waiting for the return bus which made it even sticker.  Luckily, I got home before any downpour.

Then I decided I needed to do something more fun.  So a quick clear off of the sewing table, and I finally got back to quilting on my niece’s wedding quilt (which she WILL have before their 1st wedding anniversary!) 🙂   You may recall, this is the quilt

dscn4001

 

I had previously stitched 1/4″ away from each side on all the “framing” sections that go around the blocks as well as the taupe colored border.  That took a while to say the least and then it go put aside because I had some other projects I needed to get finished.

So today, wound the three empty bobbins I had and I have not emptied them again and I think I have about half the blocks inside the frames quilted.  It’s a little tricky since most of those fabrics are so busy it’s hard to see where I’m going or where I’ve been but progress has been made.

Here’s a photo of one of the blocks from the back — the blue and white large floral blocks have this quilted inside them.  The backing is actually dark royal blue – not black like it looks in the photo.

Last night I also picked up the red sweater I had been knitting on (and set aside to work on the KAL shawl) and finished off one of the front sections (after ripping back 2 or 3″ because I couldn’t figure out where I was on the neckline decreases).  So I just wound a new ball of yarn so I can cast on the other front after dinner tonight.

 

Oh yeah and the other accomplishment (a boring one too), with all the humidity we’ve been having I decided I really needed to get rid of about five inches of hair.  Yep that photo at the top of the blog – my hair hasn’t been that short since, well since that photo was taken.  Even with bobbing off 5 or 6 inches, it’s still about even with my chin or slightly below but oh so much cooler!

DSCN4458

 

Now to go ready my reward for having gone to the grocery store – a  delicious meal  requiring no fuss since broasted chickens were on sale (ready to eat and I don’t have to heat up the oven – bonus!), coleslaw (mine is never as good) and German potato salad (mine is actually better but the stores is a close second).   About the only time I make potato salad or coleslaw is if it’s for some function — it’s just not as good (or I can’t make it as good) if it’s not a good size amount being made. And while I like it, I don’t want to have to eat it for a week straight so I’m very glad my local deli has the kind I like.

3 comments on “Saturday progress

  1. Your quilting in the floral blocks is just beautiful. What means of marking do you use, to do your free motion quilting. Your niece will love this quilt WHENEVER she receives it!

Comments are closed.