Saturday progress

Well I have accomplished much more today than it seems I did yesterday.  More laundry done (boring), stack or two of boxes that I needed to flatten for recycling, and some other junk like that organized (really boring), shredded a stack or two of old bills and other papers (way boring but I’m so glad I bought a shredder).  I braved the heat and humidity to go to the grocery store (super boring – I absolutely hate grocery shopping and humidity each on their own, so combine the two and I’m surprised I ventured out to do it at all).  However, since I’ve needed to get to the grocery store for quite a while, I couldn’t put it off much longer.  I mean I actually had to drink instant coffee this a.m. which I usually keep around just for some recipes that use it for coffee flavoring,  as there was not a coffee bean or k-cup or bag of coffee anywhere to be found in my cabinets.  So a quick hop on the bus  and it wasn’t too bad going but it had just started sprinkling as I was waiting for the return bus which made it even sticker.  Luckily, I got home before any downpour.

Then I decided I needed to do something more fun.  So a quick clear off of the sewing table, and I finally got back to quilting on my niece’s wedding quilt (which she WILL have before their 1st wedding anniversary!) 🙂   You may recall, this is the quilt

dscn4001

 

I had previously stitched 1/4″ away from each side on all the “framing” sections that go around the blocks as well as the taupe colored border.  That took a while to say the least and then it go put aside because I had some other projects I needed to get finished.

So today, wound the three empty bobbins I had and I have not emptied them again and I think I have about half the blocks inside the frames quilted.  It’s a little tricky since most of those fabrics are so busy it’s hard to see where I’m going or where I’ve been but progress has been made.

Here’s a photo of one of the blocks from the back — the blue and white large floral blocks have this quilted inside them.  The backing is actually dark royal blue – not black like it looks in the photo.

Last night I also picked up the red sweater I had been knitting on (and set aside to work on the KAL shawl) and finished off one of the front sections (after ripping back 2 or 3″ because I couldn’t figure out where I was on the neckline decreases).  So I just wound a new ball of yarn so I can cast on the other front after dinner tonight.

 

Oh yeah and the other accomplishment (a boring one too), with all the humidity we’ve been having I decided I really needed to get rid of about five inches of hair.  Yep that photo at the top of the blog – my hair hasn’t been that short since, well since that photo was taken.  Even with bobbing off 5 or 6 inches, it’s still about even with my chin or slightly below but oh so much cooler!

DSCN4458

 

Now to go ready my reward for having gone to the grocery store – a  delicious meal  requiring no fuss since broasted chickens were on sale (ready to eat and I don’t have to heat up the oven – bonus!), coleslaw (mine is never as good) and German potato salad (mine is actually better but the stores is a close second).   About the only time I make potato salad or coleslaw is if it’s for some function — it’s just not as good (or I can’t make it as good) if it’s not a good size amount being made. And while I like it, I don’t want to have to eat it for a week straight so I’m very glad my local deli has the kind I like.

