Saturday Stuff

It was very short-lived  — Mother Nature’s sunshine which we finally saw some of yesterday did not return today.  Tho my computer says it’s “42 but feels like 34” outside,  I don’t think it even feels 34.  The wind was roaring  when I opened up the door, it definitely is very windy and it looks like it rained a bit making it damp so feels colder out there.   So much for my contemplating making a quick run to the grocery store – think I’ll just stay inside today.

I started last night on a new project so am stitching many flying geese.

DSCN4010 Only about 140 more of them to make. 🙂  I don’t really like making them with the stitch and flip a square technique – wastes fabric and adds extra steps.  But then I remembered I’ve got an Easy Angle ruler (EZ International  -no affiliation, just like this ruler) which makes cutting and sewing them much quicker.

I just cut a few pieces to make sure I liked how they were turning out so need to go back and cut more but if you look at the stack in the upper right of the photo of the background triangles, the one that is laying right side up with a wrong side up on top of it — you’ll see the top of it is blunted, not a point.  That’s because you cut those triangles from strips and the ruler has a blunt edge you align with the top of the strip.  This also helps with placement for stitching.   Once they are pressed, I just have to trim off the dog ears in the corners and they are the perfect size with no other squaring up.  So hopefully by the end of the day I’ll have 140+ flying geese ready to put up on the design wall.

I also made great progress on my little baby bonnet once I ripped back what I had done and switched out the colors a bit – my first choices were not really showing the color work well.

DSCN4008The flash is washing out the colors – they are a bit darker.  The green is leftovers from the baby blanket I made – so it’s a bit darker as shown in the blanket.

I just have to cinch up the back of the hat and sew a little bit of a seam and then the bottom edge gets I-cord all along it and to form the ties.

But before getting back to those flying geese – I think I need to go turn on the oven so I can warm up a breakfast treat –

DSCN4007I made blueberry muffins yesterday and since I had been previously talking/thinking about Mom’s streusel coffee cake, I decided to top my muffins with streusel and added in just a bit of coconut I had in the cupboard – I love coconut in and on anything.   They turned out pretty tasty.

Camp Loopy 2 project. Start. 7/1/14 Fin. 7/13/14  Pine Forest Baby Blanket

Camp Loopy 2 project. Start. 7/1/14 Fin. 7/13/14 Pine Forest Baby Blanket

5 comments on “Saturday Stuff

  1. I hope you feel better soon – or at least well enough to enjoy your vacation. Cozy up with soup and a good book and some handwork.

    That baby bonnet is darling. Is there a pattern for it? Also those slippers from a couple days ago – it seems everyone else knows the pattern, but I don’t!

  2. You are amazing! Is there anything you can’t do? Everything is beautiful!😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. I love the baby bonnet, the colors are so pretty together. I wish I could knit as well & as fast as you do. You turn out some pretty things.
    Lisa in Alabama

  4. I am intrigued by your fabrics – military, but not exactly traditional. Flying geese are always a favorite block for me, so I can’t wait to see what you are making.

    Enjoy the vacation time knitting and sewing. My sewing time this weekend is just a little handwork while we make a quick visit to Rapid City to visit our daughter’s family for a couple of days. I brought a needle-turn applique piece that I could work on in the car or anywhere.

Comments are closed.