Sunday, Nov. 30, 2015

I love breakfast on the weekends.  During the week, it’s my latte and maybe grab a scone at the coffee shop, but at home on the weekends I usually eat brunch rather than breakfast and lunch and I love muffins, biscuits – all those yummy things.   Give me a good omelet and a warm muffin and all is right in my world.

Today, however, I woke up thinking about waffles and cornmeal muffins.  I love waffles  but don’t make them often.  I knew I didn’t have enough cornmeal left for muffins but a half batch of waffles – that might be possible.  So waffles are mixed and just waiting for the waffle maker to heat up and syrup is simmering on the stove, nearly thickened to the right consistency.

So the really important question of this morning…. are you a Belgium waffle person or a skinny waffle person.  I am a skinny waffle person and when my old waffle maker died I had to search for a long to find a waffle maker that still make skinny waffles.  I like them crispy on the outside and leftovers get frozen to pop into the toaster.    Here’s the recipe I’m trying today  Cornmeal waffles.  Now to see if the waffle maker is ready.

It was ready – they were good. I’ve now had my waffle fix for a while and there’s a few to toss in the freezer for some other day.

I was doing a little playing in EQ this morning while trying to decide what was for breakfast so here’s a little eye candy.  I was playing with some different settings (horizontal versus vertical) using the same block

Here’s horizontal

straight It’s okay but it’s much more interesting when it’s set on point here.

onpt.

 

 

 

 

Then there was this design — same setting for both of the images of this quilt.  It uses three different sizes of the same block design.  The first one is okay.

tic-tac-toe

 

but adding in more colors makes the circular design pop out.  I love those straight pieced designs that give a curved secondary appearance.

tttcircles

Enough play – need to finish the last of the cleaning in the sewing room.

3 comments on “Sunday, Nov. 30, 2015

Comments are closed.