Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Blog Tour

Welcome –  I’m so excited to be a part of another Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Blog Tour  especially since this is the 10th issue which means 1,000 quilt blocks have been shared to date!

DSCN3917 When I previously posted the sneak peek at the front cover and said I just might have been lucky enough to have my block appearing on the front cover, many of you who are regular blog readers knew of my love obsession with bird blocks.  Not realistic birds with every feather in place — no, my birds find themselves in a bit more unusual circumstances or……. wearing clothing. 

The weather seems quite appropriate for my block in this issue.  The cold snap came in last week here, as it did in many parts of the country, bringing low temperatures and snow and if this bird were out there, it would indeed be “Skating On Thin Ice ” which is the title of my block for Issue 10.

You could use any applique method of your choice to make this block.  My favorite method is hand appliqued and you can find a short tutorial here on how I use the freezer paper on the bottom method when I hand applique.  Having the edge of the freezer paper underneath your pieces to needle turn against helps give nice smooth edges.

skatingonthinice

For the fabrics for this block I went stash diving.  I was trying to figure out how to show snow and ice so they didn’t blend together too much and remembered my favorite snowy fabric – it may be hard to tell in the photo but the snow fabric is white with flakes printed on it and it has little flecks of blue.  The flecks of blue sort of looked like the sky was reflecting on icy snowflakes.  Then I remembered the light gray fabric in the stash that had silver metallic swirls — just what I wanted for the ice — it looks like the skate blades have been cutting patterns in the ice on the pond.

I found a black fabric with silver specks on it for the skate blades – the silver is of course bits of ice stuck to the skate blades from all his fancy footwork.  Here’s a close up of the skate and ice fabric.

closeup laced skates

So how did this idea come about — well, I’m not really sure.  He started out as a very small cardinal sitting in a tree in a drawing for a different project.

 

tree I use EQ 7 to draw my projects so it’s easy to steal him out of that tree and use him elsewhere. There are many EQ7 projects that just have to sit for a while and when I go back to them later, I come up with a new or better (in my opinion) way to use the project or make changes to it.   But doesn’t he look bored in that tree (0kay he’s very tiny but trust me, there is a very bored expression on his face)  just sitting there, no hat or scarf to keep him warm, nobody to talk to….

arm

Then he got moved to hang out with a different snowman friend on another potential wall hanging – they look like they’re having an interesting conversation but then I got the idea for a bird bath with icicles hanging down ….

show off That’s when I decided he needed skates.  But in order to use the 12″ block format, I plucked him off the bird bath and put him on the pond.  Besides it was safer getting him away from that bird bath since I’m not sure whether the cat is thinking “should I eat him with his skates on” or “who put this stupid cap and shawl on me anyway!?”   

 

 

So we end up back at “Skating on Thin Ice”.

ska

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Now if you’ve read this far, be sure to leave a comment on this blog post – one comment per person only please – to be entered for the drawings for copies of Issue 10.   Your comment will go into moderation if you haven’t left comments that were approved before so do not worry if your comment doesn’t show up immediately – please don’t leave a second comment since it won’t show up either. :-).  All comments in moderation will be approved before winners are chosen. 

ETA – Winners chosen – names posted on next blog post.  Thanks for stopping by!

279 comments on “Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Blog Tour

  1. Oh my goodness, Denise..he’s just too cute! You’re creativity and wit always bring a smile to my face! I actually laughed aloud at your commenting if the cat was debating “eating the bird with his skates on..”…or if he was wondering “Who put this stupid cap and shawl on me anyway?”. The cat’s expression absolutely looks like he could be “pondering his possibilities..”. Love them both!

  2. Your skating cardinal is so cute and so festive! I enjoyed reading about your creative journey in developing your design!! Thanks for the nice block!!

  3. Your skating bird has such personality and it’s fun that he took up the whole block. He didn’t need that snowman or that cat! Thanks!

  4. I can’t wait to do this cute bird. I am happy that you made him larger with a sense of humour skating. Thank you for a chance to win.

  5. What a grrrreat Block!! Love the Cardinal..and skating! What fun!! Awesome job!! (& the cat looks like he can’t believe what he is seeing! giggle….)

  6. I love your bird! Such fun for the winter and perfect to add to a Round Robin that will be coming to me soon!

  7. i love the story of the bird going from one situation to another to end up where he did! too funny. i like the way your mind works! i’d love to win a mag, and save the money for fabric but i’ll buy it anyway just to make that bird!. you should do quilt with the cardinal in all kinds of weather of winter clothes. it would be so adorable. and put the cat in one. she’s pretty adorable too

  8. Love your bird block; he does look like he is enjoying himself. I also enjoyed reading your story about how you arrived at that design; this block is on my list of blocks to make from this issue.

  9. Darling block — I love the title, especially with the cat in the window as was shown in one of your photos! The ice skates are a perfect touch and cardinals are a personal favorite of mine. Nicely done!

  10. That little bird is adorable, but I’m not surprised. I love all of you bird patterns. Thanks for the chance to win!

  11. Cute bird with an interesting personality. Love to have a copy of the magazine to drool over all the goodies

  12. I love to see the crimson of the cardinals against our winter snoe. My neighbor, however, keeps getting dive-bombed by one! Maybe I should make him a wallhanging for luck?

  13. Love your cheery skating cardinal, but don’t you think he looks lonesome? It’s much more fun to skate with a pal… LOL

  14. I love Cardinals for Christmas, you block caught my breath! Then paging down…oh NO…A KITTY! My first Love! I thought, Oh no she didn’t….just make this cuter than it was? YEP!

  15. Adorable as always. i made several table runners modifying your maple lane pattern. I’ll try to post a pic of them eventually. thks for your talents.

  16. Congratulations on having your block in Quiltmakers 100 Vol.10! Your block is fun and love hearing the story of how the block happened and he ended up in skates, hehe.

    Thank you for a super giveaway and a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. What a neat block. I’m not into applique, but a follow quilter is and she loves bird blocks, so I’m going to share this one with her.

  18. I particularly love the ‘snow on the blades’ fabric choice. One of my favorite birds that we see year round here in PA.

  19. Such a sweet block. I’ll be following your blog from now on–I would love to make a wallhanging of the bird, birdbath, and cat. So glad to have found you!

  20. OH my gosh, your skating cardinal is just so cute! I love birds and especially enjoy the song of the cardinal. Whenever I hear one, I always go to the window in case I can get to see it.

  21. The colors you used for your block were perfect. Your little skating bird made me smile, even thow she reminded me winter is on it’s way.

  22. I love it. We live in Southern California so it is unusual for our birdbaths to freeze. A couple of years ago they did and I joked the birds were learning to skate.

  23. I just love how you are able to give these feathered friends such personalities.
    Great job accomplishing that.

  24. Oh I just love your bird friend and the description how you “found” him. I would love to win a copy of Quiltmaker 100 Blocks. Thanks

  25. What a wonderful and cute bird. It is perfect for this time of year. Congrats on being chosen to be in the magazine.

  26. Just so cute! Absolutely love it! Brings a smile to my face, even with the subzero temperatures here. Thanks for the inspiration!

  27. I love your bird. I simply must buy this issue if I don’t win. I have a place where I have decided to hang seasonal wall quilts and yours would be perfect for winter.

  28. Adorable…I would really like to win this issue; ice skating is dear to our family, my niece skated until college and now (happily) she is teaching her own three daughters to skate. P.S. the kitty block with the cardinal and bird bath WILL be a best seller! Please release it soon!! Thanks for the chance to win.

  29. I think this is so darn cute, and as I’m sitting at my laptop, looking out the window, I see Mr. and Mrs. Cardinal by the bird feeder, as they are every day, several times a day. The fish pond is covered with a thin coat of ice, but I don’t think they will be skating on it any time soon, at least not with skates on. They may wander out to get a drink of water near the bubbeler, where we keep an opening all winter long. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity, and for the smile your block brought to my face,

  30. What a fun block! And your process in coming up with it is a blast. I love how you portrayed the ice and snow. Well done. Thanks for a chance to win the magazine.

  31. I really like cardinals and your block is quite cute. I also like the story of the evolution of your design and how you came to choose your fabrics. Finding just the right one drives me crazy all the time.

  32. I love Skating on Thin Ice! I do love cardinals, and I also love whimsical designs. How fun! I will have to follow BOM next year for the cute kittehs, with hearts.

  33. Loved reading about the evolution of your block. I am looking forward to trying your applique method. Thanks for sharing both.

  34. Enjoyed the history of this block, hmm, freezer paper applique, I may have to check that out. Keep up the cute projects, Kathy in Colo

  35. Absolutely love your skating bird, and the story of how you get to the final block was such a good read. Thank so much for sharing with us.

  36. I just love this block, and your fabric choices were just perfect. I enjoyed seeing the cat at the bottom of the other quilt too.

  37. What a fun block. Thanks for sharing the history of the block and how it evolved. Isn’t EQ7 wonderful and now it works on the Mac without having Parallels/Windows!

  38. Very cute block. Like the other blocks, too. I guess the little cardinal is your signature, he adds a little warmth to each place he visits.

  39. This is absolutely my favorite block so far! I’m going to have to follow your blog as your creativity is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing your block. I love cardinals and seeing this guy out finding ways to entertain himself is a hoot!

  40. Denise – I love the cardinal. It’s my favorite winter bird and he’s so cute with his ice scates. Thanks for sharing your talents with us.

  41. Your bird sure has been traveling! Glad he made it to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 10. Hopefully he’ll come visit me. Love your fabric choices!

  42. This block is very cute…..as are all of your others!! Thanks for sharing all that you do! Your talents are never ending.

  43. Denise,
    What a great site you have!
    Your dressed,skating bird is so cute!!
    Thank you for the chance of winning a copy of “100”!

  44. I love your block! I became a fan of your quilting style several blog hops ago and I always love seeing your new blocks!

  45. I’m looking forward to making your block — in fact I think that several of the blocks
    would make a whimsical winter quilt.

  46. I love your block. I’m particularly fond of cardinals and like to do applique. Perfect timing to do a skating cardinal.

  47. Lovely, lovely block!! Cardinals are one of my favorite birds and this one skating is just too adorable! Would LOVE to win!

  48. Wow! 1000 blocks…Isn’t it wonderful that there are soooo many talented people out there to come up with all these ideas.. Love the bird!

  49. I just love Skating on Thin Ice, cardinals are my favorite bird and they come to my feeder daily.Thank you for the chance to win.

  50. Your creativity just amazes me. I love it and you just can’t help by smile. He is so cute and makes you think of wintertime. Thank you for being a part of this QM 100 Blocks, Volume 10 blog tour and giving all of us a chance to win this awesome magazine. Your Skating on Thin Ice really captures this issue.

    Sandi Timmons
    sandit1@sbcglobal.net

  51. I love birds and this block is right on time with this cold, cold weather. The rinks around here are setting up and will be operating this weekend. Thanks for the chance to win 100 Blocks.

    Janet

  52. Thanks for a chance at a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 10…Love the cardinal
    and the title…Skating on Thin Ice!

  53. Your block is surely a timely one! Here in Florida, it is expected to go down to 20 degrees tonight!

  54. I live in the mountains near Yosemite National Park. Skating on thin Ice would be a perfect flag for my outdoor area. Sometimes when the roads are iced we are definitely Skating on Thin Ice. Yes! I know it’s a quilt item but it would be perfect flag
    here.

  55. Loved the process from a small cardinal to an ice skating bird. Great being on the cover with your block, also.

  56. Love your bird and what an amazing story till the final block emerges. Would love to win a copy of the new 1oo blocks.

  57. I just love all your birds. They all tell a story just by looking at them. I love the fabric you picked for the skates and would love a c hance to win the 100 block issue. Thanks for sharing all your talents.

  58. I LOVE your block & the little story of how it came about! I always choose 2 – 3 blocks from each 100 Blocks issue to make into minis as gifts – yours will surely be one of them. Thanks sew much.

  59. congrats, loved to read the process of how this little guy came to be on skates. Great. Your block is fantastic Thanks for sharing it all.

  60. I also love birds and this one has such personality. I thank you for the story of how he came about.

  61. WOW is he cute!! Being a cardinal and snowman lover and the owner of a much loved birdbath, your post was a bright spot in my morning!
    Thanks for the chance to win

  62. I especially like the “ice” fabric – I’ll be looking for that one to add to my scrap stash (which my sons have decided is at “hoarder” level status)..

  63. such a cute block and so right for winter! cardinals and christmas go together perfectly….i was a skater in my wild and crazy childhood so it brings back nice memories….

  64. Omg! I love him! Thank you for sharing the process of choosing your fabrics & the process of “stealing” him from EQ7 (glad he escaped! Way too cute to languish in cyber space! I shall always think of him as “Houdini on ice”…. And I’m with you on that cat lol!!!

  65. I love the block, and really enjoyed reading about the fabric choices! They helped me understand what more detail can be shown simply through fabric choices. I’m a wanna-be quilter today, and will probably get started more when I retire. Today I knit and crochet a bit, but everything suffers due to lack of time!

    Thanks for the contest!

  66. Wonderful block and so appropriate with the snow storm blowing through right now. Love the details and your choice of fabrics!! Perfect!!

  67. Your cardinal skates prettier than me! Love the fabric choices. Another design to love! So kind of you to offer the 100 blocks magazine!

  68. All your bird blocks have character. Or maybe I should say “are characters”! Nice block for this Arctic blast.

  69. Another great bird design from you! Loved reading how this one changed from the little cardinal in a tree to this cute skating bird. Thanks for the chance to win!

  70. As winter is taking hold here in Ohio, your post was delightful! I need an ice skating cardinal wall hanging to make me smile !!!

  71. What a talented bird and a clever design for sure! I really think it’s the little shoelaces that won me over. =)

  72. I adore the skating cardinal. He skated right into my heart. Thanks for the chance to win the latest 100 Block magazine.

  73. The cardinal makes me smile. With his wings tucked back like old time gentlemen skaters who would skate around and around on the ponds. My Dad skated like that.

Comments are closed.