Looking ahead in the quilty future….

It’s about this time of year I start thinking ahead for projects for the blog – like a new BOM, etc.    And it’s at this time of year I plan more things for next year than a sane person should and I never seem to get my own versions of the BOMs made (yep – I’m behind on both the Dog Pound Pals and the Knitter’s Gifts projects but I have high hopes of catching up in the next month or so.)  I’ve gotten quite a few emails recently asking about designs I’ve shown on past blog posts — not all of them can be made available — I simply don’t have time to write them all up.  While other projects may be added in next year, my immediate plan is this.
There will be a mystery quilt project – again, haven’t decided when it will be presented. 
But the project I’m most excited to present is the new free Block of the Month project for next year.
Before the deluge of questions starts — I haven’t figured out yardage, I don’t know when it will start yet, and yes, it is a BIG quilt.  I think the final measurements are 98 x 118.  There are ways you can make a smaller project but we’ll worry about that later.  To say this design has been  in the works for years is an understatement.  Like many design I draw in EQ, some have to sit awhile, get tweaked on now and then, discard borders, change up blocks, sit for another indeterminate amount of time, and then the tweaking starts anew.  Some designs never make it beyond the tweaking point.   But some actually get to the point where I say – finished – that’s exactly what I want!🙂
PatchKatsThis design also has special meaning because it’s named PatchKat — after dear friend Susan who passed away earlier this year, who was known as PatchKat to many of us.  She saw the earlier versions and loved it and always told me I needed to finish the design.  And so I have and will be presenting it as next year’s BOM in her honor and memory.   (A do have to share that a friend’s little girl saw a print out of this quilt image and  wondered why I drew tattoos on the kittens) :-)  So I hope you’ll join me in making PatchKat’s patched kats.  
 
Finally – I’ve gotten numerous emails inquiring about the leaf quilt I showed a few posts ago that I need to finish and the quilt in the header image of the blog.  Both are from the same design – the header is just an EQ7 generated version of it.  My smaller quilt is just a portion of the larger design shown below.  You can find the pattern for the leaf quilt at hoffmanfabrics.com on their Free Pattern page.  The pattern also includes a table runner.  Look for “Maple Lane”.
Now – be sure to come back tomorrow – it’s my day on the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Blog Tour!  The blog tour started today so be sure to check out the quiltypleasuresblog.com to get the list of blogs on the tour each day this week and enter to win some prizes.
Maple Lane Black quilt -
Maple Lane Black quilt –

11 comments on “Looking ahead in the quilty future….

  1. Hello,Pre-Thanksgiving I want to acknowledge receipt your emails and being in awe of your energy! I love quilting, have an impressive and very personal stash …… and haven’t touched my machine or needle in over 10 years ….. due to the time constraints of work, family, thoroughness, house etc. Next to what I read of you and see in your production, these why-I-can’t-issues just don’t hold up. I look forward to my return to quilting world, hopefully before retirement. You are an inspiration! I am very grateful that I subscribed. Thank you for your continuous sharing.XOXOXLaurel LawlerMt. Prospect, IL.ljlaw8@hotmail.com

    Date: Tue, 18 Nov 2014 01:02:05 +0000 To: ljlaw8@hotmail.com

  2. Yes, Susan would like this quilt! Each of the kitties would have a name, I am sure. I like it, too! I am in on this and anything else your fertile mind comes up with as you know! I was thinking the other day that I really need to get the leaf pattern out (I downloaded it as soon as it was available) and start making blocks. Then sanity took over and I continued with the Christmas sewing. Eventually that will be done. I need another UFO, lol!

  3. I adore the tattooed kats. I have a story to share about tattoos. My daughter Jamie will put fake tattoos on her boys and they love them. One week I was visiting Jamie and her family. Her mother-in-law saw the fake tattoo on the older grandson and asked him, “Why do YOU do that? You know I don’t like it!’ Well, first most children aren’t going to turn down a neat fake tattoo that’s doing to come off come bath time anyhow, And, she was trying to get to call my daughter down through our grandson. Without really thinking, I asked our grandson if he wanted to see one of my tattoos. Of course, he did. I gently pulled my shirt over and showed him one up high on my chest that looks like a polka dot. Then I explained to him that grandma had been very sick and had to have permanent tattoos so they could line her up the same way in the (radiation) machine each time. He thought it was great that grandma had a tattoo. It was a bond between us. I may need to make him a Tattooed Kitty quilt. Thanks for remembering your friend in a great way.

    I went to the store to buy this volume of the block magazine just because of your pattern and they were out of it. And I haven’t been able to find it except online. So, Ill be entering just to try to get your pattern.

    Thanks for the pun post and the lead to the leaf quilt, too.

    • 100 Block issue was not scheduled to hit the bookstore mag racks, quilt shops, etc. until today so you likely would not have found it anywhere yet except on line since they haven’t been put out in most places yet. Some places do get their issues a few days in advance and put them out right away but today was the actual scheduled date for them to be available for purchase.

  4. I. too, miss Susan (Patchcat) and her down to earth outlook on life. She is missed and she would be so happy to see this kitty cat quilt with all the love flowing out of it. It’s going to be fun!

  5. Can’t wait for the new BOM. Sadly I am a couple months behind on both BOMs for this year – but they will get done soon.

Comments are closed.