Stashbusting and Quilts from 100 Blocks

It’s been a while since I did a stash busting report – my problem is I keep starting things and not finishing them – or simply finding time to sew.  Both design walls are full.

I didn’t get to any sewing yet this week but I did donate 5 yards to  a co-worker’s child for a school project they were working on.

so my numbers stand atstashbustingcapture

They are not earth shattering numbers by any means but I definitely don’t just randomly purchase fabric like I used to (now if I could transfer that to yarn purchasing).  Oh well…….

DSCN3906The Asian project on the left of the design wall all came from my stash and I plan to work a bit on the sashing strips  that go with it this afternoon.

Have you seen the  latest Quilts From Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks issue – Fall ’14 which is available now — and has been out for a little while.

DSCN3904I just received my complimentary “advance” (tho not so advance in this case due to an address error) 🙂 copies and inside is “Frozen Friends,” a wall hanging design based on my “Should’a Flown South” block in the last issue (Issue 9) of 100 Blocks.  Too cute if I do say so myself.

DSCN3905

Just leave a comment on this blog post (must live in the U.S. to enter) to be entered into the random drawing for the extra copy of the magazine I have.  Winner will be announced next Sunday.

65 comments on “Stashbusting and Quilts from 100 Blocks

  1. Those Frozen Friends are just what I need to remind me that it does snow in winter, just not in Central Florida! Very, very cute!

  2. These birdies are adorable. They might be flying south with the cold blast we just received. Thanks for the chance to win a copy of the magazine.

  3. I too love the birds in the winter outfits…just like gifts from a knitter…so spot ON!! Thanks for the reminder to try to win!

  4. I have always loved these birds and they are even more adorable in winter dress. I would love to have the magazine.

  5. Love the Frozen Friends quilts. Have tried to find a copy of the mag from my local quilt shops and even at Barnes and Noble-to no avail. So, hope I win a copy from you. Thanks for the chance.

  6. I smile everytime I see any of your birds. They are so cute and the way you present them it tells a story even if it is only in our head.. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I love quiltmakers quilts from …magazines and sometimes can’t find them where I live. I would want this one just for those cute birds.

  8. I was just thinking about this magazine yesterday wondering if there would be any left on the shelf in any of the stores I shop but didn’t get by to check it out. So, yes, I’d love to win your extra issue. I’ve been working on my version of your Labor Day sew along, Mix ‘n Match this weekend. And I really like the way you are framing your Asian Blocks. Have a good week!

  9. I love the little Frozen Friends, I remember the Strictly For the Birds Block Project, I followed the whole project, and have all the patterns. Congrats on having the Frozen Friends in this issue.
    Your design wall is lookin’ good.
    Thanks for all the patterns you share, and thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of Quilt.
    Lisa in Alabama

  10. I too am trying not to start anything new, so that I can report more fabric usage. Love what is on the design wall the “blue & gold” is a great start.
    Hugs

  11. Your Frozen Friends pattern is ADORABLE!!! Would love for you to “pull” my name next week!!! 🙂

  12. I have also been stash busting this weekend but failed miserably when I had to buy some fabric for sashing on a scrappy quilt. Oh well, it’s for a good cause: a quilt for Christmas for my grandson. Cute birdies that you don’t have to go outside to feed!

  13. The “Should have Flown South” pattern is so cute and what a tribute to your talents as a pattern creator and designer. Congratulations on being published, yet again, AND for sharing your delightful creations with us. On to some serious stash busting of my own …
    Terri at the Drake’s Nest in Palm Bay, FL

  14. I just love your birds. It would be such a lark to win a copy of the magazine and get started making that wall hanging! Thank you!!

  15. There are so many birds that come to my yard in winter — (in Washington) that
    I fill feeders several times a day when we have snow. Your bird quilt is so cute
    and perfect for me – so it is definitely on my project list to make soon.

  16. I will be doing your frozen friends. Reminds me of a story my father used to tell my niece of a bird who had to walk south and his encounters on the way. such a cute pattern.

  17. Those little birdies are adorable!
    Congratulations on your stash busting. I never seem to have everything I need in stash. Sometimes I think that I am just too ‘uptight’ and need to just let loose! lol
    I am always quite envious of your yarn acquisitions. And I love to follow along on your Ravelry searches. I really should spend more time knitting and less time drooling over the patterns and the projects other people have made! lol
    Thanks for the chance to win
    Marie

  18. You are rigfht, the snowbird in the south is sooo cute. My design wall looks like yours — too full and no finishes either. I must get busy and give muy knitting a rest. lol

  19. I just love the theme “should have flown south”, since I live in Massachusetts and have to look forward to another long, cold winter. Your patterns are so darn cute!

Comments are closed.