A few bright fabrics….

DSCN3699

Check out these fun summery looking fabrics.  The top row of prints were a birthday present from a dear quilting friend in California.  I especially love the houses on the right – they look like they are made of sherbert.   So when I put in my last TLE order, I ordered some lightly mottled “solids” to go with them.  Now sure what I’m making yet, but it will be bright.

Earlier this week I was piecing together a backing for my Camp Loopy 3 project. Here it’s up on the design wall in sort of rows and I was stitching like-width size sections together.  Once I join these I can figure out how much more I need to add to it.  The back will definitely be a hodge podge but it will use up all those remaining “camp” fabric so I meet the requirements.  I’ve got some of my black tone on tone short stack to add in but first I need to cut my final borders from them and see what’s left over.   I think the backing is long enough from top to bottom but may need a bit added to one side yet.

DSCN3696

Friday I hope to get the backing finished, border strips on, and get it layered.  Yep – I took the day off work – one boss was gone this week, the other is gone tomorrow through next week so what’s a good legal assistant to do but take of the one day they’ll both be gone. 😉

Or….. I may sit on my patio drinking coffee (good thing I restocked at the store tonight) and knit.  I’m in the home stretch so to speak on my camp knitting project. I’m working my way down the decreases on he other side.  That little ball of yarn left is my second hank of yarn.  This project must use at least 800 yards and when I finish that second ball, I’ll have 810 yards in.  I’ll probably need a bit of the third hank I ordered because I made the center section a bit wider than the pattern but I’m hoping I’ll have enough left (and I think I should) to make a pair of mittens later.

DSCN3700

and exciting news  – my Snow on the Lake Camp 1 project won a viewer’s choice for the fabric projects (there’s voting for completed Camp projects and Loopy Dollars to be won) – so that’s very nice indeed!

008 So now I just have to remember to NOT go to work tomorrow since it was last minute and I didn’t decide until today to take it off (how horrible would that be to show up on a day you scheduled off!)  But I think this evening – my favorite jammies, a couple old movies  and maybe a big bowl of popcorn – I’ll be knitting into the wee hours of the morning.

7 comments on “A few bright fabrics….

  1. Yea, for you! I loved this quilt when you first showed it on your blog. I downloaded a copy of the pic to my IPad and have shown it to many of my quilting friends. Everyone just loves it so Your award was no surprise to me.

Comments are closed.