Potluck Picnic — It’s finished!

fab  My second project for The Loopy Ewe sewing camp is totally done. 

Here’s my stack of fabrics I used.  For the July project, you needed to use one Short Stack (fat quarter packet) and two different one yard cuts of fabric.  You could add other fabrics to it, and you could make whatever you wanted.

You can see my short stack – the one with the little tag on he ribbon.  My 1 yard cuts were the white tone on tone background fabric, and the blue check in the lower fabric group which was used in the quilt and for the binding.

The fabrics I chose for this project  from The Loopy Ewe are from the Moda Potluck fabric collection.  Since it’s a “Camp Loopy” project and since the fabric collection is called “Potluck”, I decided the perfect name for this quilt will be “Potluck Picnic.”   The colors, the daisy prints and the little checks remind of a summertime picnic.

The finished size of the quilt is 60 x 72.  A nice large lap quilt size.  And as I’ve gotten a many requests for the pattern, it will be made available on the blog at some point in the future, possibly for a Labor Day weekend stitch along. 

Anyway – here it is.  I just love the bright happy colors.

DSCN3626

DSCN3624DSCN3628  Since it’s such a simple and plain block design, I wanted to keep the quilting fairly simple.  I stitched in the ditch in the white sashing around all the pieces and also in the ditch on all those outer border strips using a yellow thread for all the quilting.  The outer border cornerstones have a spiral posey quilted in them and the green and yellow inner border have a feather design in them.

Since I had changed my plan on what this project would be, the red print I bought for the backing wasn’t large enough so I turned the red fabric sideways (it was a couple of inches wider than my quilt) and added a section of yellow from the stash to the top and bottom of it.  I’m really pleased with how it turned out.

DSCN3630

10 comments on “Potluck Picnic — It’s finished!

  1. I can see I will be adding some gingham checks to my stash in the future. They look so fresh and I have lots of florals I can pair them with. Uh-oh, new project alert just went off in my head!!

  2. the name is so appropriate – it is such a happy, summertime quilt. I can even picture it laid out on the grass with a picnice basket sitting on it.

  3. Oh my Denise I love this pattern. Your quilt is gorgeous and the colours
    Absolutely devine!

Comments are closed.