Shoulda’ Flown South…

ain’t that the truth after the past winter many of us have endured.  I thought I’d never be warm again and I think that’s how this poor fella is feeling.

First a big thank you to Quiltmaker and everyone there for allowing me to be in Issue 9 and participate in the blog hop.  It is such an honor to be included in this publication! 

ss

 

He’s donned his hat and matching boots and I  believe he may very well  be walking his way to Florida! 🙂  Thank you to Hoffman California Fabrics for providing me with the fabrics I asked for!

He may look a bit familiar if you normally follow my blog since I was doing a series of free bird projects last year on the blog.  There was an early drawing of a bird in cap and boots and many readers asked when I was going to give them the pattern for it … well I held it back for a reason.  Actually this block ended up being a little different than that prior drawing — this bird is a bit shorter and squatter to fit the 12″ block finished format — but he’s had a long, cold winter and although most things don’t get shorter, the squatter part from being inside all winter long isn’t far off the mark. 😉  It’s an easy block to piece and with just a touch of applique — needleturn, machine applique, satin stitch, buttonhole stitch or raw edge — you pick your poision favorite method of applique.  So what to do with him when he’s done – little framed wallhanging, potholder, pocket on a tote bag?  Here’s just a couple ideas.  How about a  placemats…

placemat shoulda'

 

or a tabletopper / wallhanging like ….. “At the Crossroads”…..are you one of those birds that shoulda’ flown south?  Which way would you choose to go?

snow

 

Want to make a few more bird  blocks…… how about “Wandering to And Fro”  – they look like they are pacing….  or make their boots shorter and they’ll look more like they are sleep walking in their nightcaps and slippers.

bluebirds wandering to and fro

 

 

or, if you really want to go crazy (I’m actually contemplating hitting my batik stash for this one)… what about Round Robin?

 

roundrobin

They are fun blocks no matter what colors you choose so I hope you’ll try making one yourself even if you don’t think you “Shoulda’ Flown South.”

Now, let’s not forget the giveaway.  I’ll be drawing three winners who will each get a free issue of 100 Blocks magazine.  Just a few simple rules to follow to be eligible for the drawing:

1) Leave only one comment on this blog post –  just one comment from you because you’d like to join in the fun and have A CHANCE to win an issue (not one comment from every email address everyone in your family has ever had  please).

2)    If you’ve never commented on my blog before, your comment will be held in moderation until I approve it. 

3) Comments received or held in moderation with a time stamp prior to noon CST  tomorrow ( (4/29/14) are eligible for the drawing.  I’m not responsible for comments that never reach me or arrive after the time deadline even tho you emailed them earlier etc, etc.. 🙂   Winners will be announced 4/30/14.  Good Luck  

EDITED 4/29 — DRAWING COMPLETE – BLOG POST FOR 4/29 INCLUDES WINNERS NAMES — CONGRATULATIONS AND THANK YOU ALL FOR VISITING MY BLOG DURING THE BLOGHOP!

Check out the Quilty Pleasures blog to find out what blogs are participating in the blog hop this week and find more fun giveaways.

Thanks for stopping by.

 

298 comments on “Shoulda’ Flown South…

  1. Your birdie imagination and creativity is delightful! We do all appreciate your sharing both with us! Thank you!

  2. I like the Wandering To & Fro. It has twelve birds so you could make it a calendar quilt and dress each one differently for the months of the year.

  3. I love this fun bird design. I see this in Cardinal colors both the very colorful male and his female companion. This year was a long winter for most of us.

  4. Congrats on getting that little robin published in Vol. 9! He’s adorale and I know how he feels. Grew up in Wis. and moved to Fla. as soon as I could! Cannot believe there’s still ice on the Great Lakes at the end of April. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  5. What a darling and fun block! I think I’d like to have one on my Christmas stocking! A red cardinal bird, with hat and boots to match my Christmas tree “pants!” 🙂

  6. I’m new to your blog and really enjoyed looking around. I love your little bird, and I will be visiting your site more in the future.

    As I am terrified of being a “not reply commenter” I will leave my e-mail contact information:
    m3reyna at gmail dot com
    Thanks for the chance to win.

  7. Your little birdie is smart! He SHOULDA flown south! Still chilly here in East Tennessee!! Just WHERE is spring??

  8. The block is so cute. I would make a pillow cover for my couch for winter, and he’d fit right in with my collection of snowmen and penguin pillows!

  9. Hi Denise, our birds have not returned from the south as our winter in Canada has been awful so when I saw these adorable birds, I just have to make them for our “bird condo” at the shore. They are just waiting to be made and named which I intend to do. Tks for your blog..Love it…

  10. Love that bird, put a smile on face! I’m freezing my butt off here in Iowa and wish i’d flown south!

  11. The whimsy of this bird is so delightful! Bookmarking your page so I can come back when I’ve got some creative sewing time on my hands ( :

  12. Love this bird! I think this year we all felt like we should have flown south–hopefully our long winter is finally over now! Thanks for the chance to win!

  13. I love your block!! That has got to be the cutest thing I have seen in a while and I agree with you it could very well be a nightcap and slippers with the boots shorter!! he he Thank you for the giveaway. This is my first time on your blog but it will not be my last!!

  14. What an adorable block! I think we are all ready to see birds other than the birds who winter here. Thanks for the giveaway.

  15. Love the birds and the Round Robbin one is the best.
    Love the Hoffman fabrics also–keep up the good work.

  16. I love the Round Robin idea. Thank you for the chance to win! I’m a 4 season person, so I would be the chick sticking around for the snow.

  17. Your little birds are cute as a button! I really like At The Crossroads and think I might just like to make a little wall hanging like it for my mother-in-law. Congratulations on being published in Vol. 9 & thanks for the chance to win one!

  18. So cute. I love the robin ones because as I look outside, all I see is robins. I feel like maybe I need to go south and get warm. The birds are darling. Thank you for the chance to win the Quiltmaker 100 blocks publication.

  19. Very cute block, I am thinking several of the birds around here are wishing they had boots and hats.

  20. OK, you block is my favorite so far, and it would definitely be on the short list of blocks I want to make from this issue. Although I live in warm San Antonio, TX now, I originally hail from NYC, so I can empathize with the birdie!

  21. These little guys are so sweet! I love how their booties fit! So appropriate for the winter we have had. I dare anyone not to smile while looking at him. Just can’t do it! Will put on my list of must-do’s from the issue! Congrats!

  22. I really, really love your block. In fact I’m adding you to my favorites. This is my first blog tour and happy I found you. Thanks.

  23. I really like all the design options, especially the blue color scheme and the Round Robin quilt. it makes me want to go make this little flock of adorable birds!
    reillyr2(at)hotmail(dot)com

  24. What a cute block! I live in Arizona in a lake communist and some years we get Canadian geese that never seem to want to leave! I love the “Round Robin” idea!

  25. Your birds are adorable!!! I would have liked to head south for the winter, for sure!!! Thanks for making the applique fit all the ways to do applique, not just one way!! I can’t wait to (hopefully win, but buy if I must) get this magazine and make a bird quilt for myself!!

  26. Congratulations on having your wonderful block featured in Quiltmaker 100 Blocks!!! What an honor!!! And totally deserved, too, because this little feathered fellow is absolutely the cutest 🙂 I giggled when I saw those skinny little legs stuffed into those snow boots LOL!!! I’ve saved all your birdie patterns from last year, and they’d all love to have this bird join their flock 🙂 Thanks for the great giveaway!

  27. OMG, the birds are adorable! And all of the ideas you gave us for using the block are great. Love him!!

  28. Your block is way too cute. If I do not win the book on a giveaway, I have to buy it just for your block.

  29. Oh I like the quilty one, should be truly wonderful with Batik’s. Would be nice to win the Mag, too

  30. This bird is way too cute! My mind is already thinking of ways to work this delightful bird. Have to love this blog hop! 🙂

  31. Poor little cold bird. I know just how she feels. I like the cold as long as I can get in where it is warm.

  32. Your birds are the cutest thing ever!! I love them….any way you make them!! Your imagination is always at work—and we love to see in in action!

  33. I love the bird designs. I am a newbee to your blog. Thanks for the eye candy and the give away.

  34. Your bird block is so darned cute!! This is my first time at your blog and am sure it won’t be my last. You have some great design ideas.

  35. I love Wandering to and Fro. I would have picked less snow. Snow is fine normally, but this winter is dragging on a bit long.

  36. Congrats on getting your cute bird block into Quiltmaker this round. I’d love the chance to win a copy of the book and it would make my BD complete today. Thanks for your cute patterns that you offer free throughout the year too.

  37. Super block, and love the round robin quilt, so cute!! Will buy the magazine just for this block. thanks Denise!

  38. Cute, Cute, cute!! I wish I could have flown south this winter.
    I nave enjoyed reading your blog and was not surprised to find your pattern in 100 blocks. Other patterns you have designed have been so good.

  39. I love the birds. Looks like they could really get blown away in the next few days. Let’s hope the weather calms down soon.

  40. WOW, I love this block – I laughed so hard. This has just moved up to number one spot on the to do list.

  41. I am LOVIN’ that block!! My parents are snowbirds. I should have been a snowbird myself THIS winter 😦
    Thank you for a chance to win:-)

  42. These birds just make me laugh. I think our birds around here wish they had turned around and gone back. Spring’s trying, but just not great yet…

  43. This is my first time commenting! I really like your bird, and boy, do I agree with the name – it was a really bad winter here; I shoulda gone south, too!

  44. Your block is wonderful and I’ll definitely be making some copies. Like your bird I’ve been bogged down this winter with the cold and snow . Please just a little warmth.

  45. Absolutely love the “Snow – No Snow” design. It sure fit us this winter, but I think with the tornadoes they are having down south, I will just stay here. If I don’t win the book I may have to buy it just to make this bird.

  46. Your little bird design is so cute and so much fun! Congratulations on having your block in Quiltmakers 100 Blocks No. 9.

  47. Love your bird block! Living in Alaska, I would definitely follow the arrow for “no snow!”

  48. Your birds are so entertaining. I love the way you’ve incorporated the bird pattern into the format of a quilt. It spurs so many good ideas.

  49. I’m in love with your birds. Love the Round Robin quilt, and the crossroads (south is good), and place mats. Oh so many cute birdies to make and play with. Can you tell I like birds? Thank you for the birdie and the blog hop fun!

  50. Love, love, love this bird block. I live on two wooded acres and have two birdfeeders on my property. Whenever I need a break from the sewing machine I step out of my workroom and sit in the courtyard and watch the birds fly to the feeders.

  51. Oh my goodness!! I just had to comment and say that your sweet little bird is just as darling as he can be :o) Please do not count me in for your magazine drawings, because I also have a block in Volume 9…I just could not pass up the opportunity to tell you just how much I enjoy the block you created!

  52. I love this bird and the fact that we had a long, hard winter. My husband kept saying that we should move south and get away from the Michigan winters.

  53. The little birds are so cute! And appropriate for the winter that doesn’t want to go away. Nice job!

  54. Just so cute and lovable. Feel like I could reach out and touch him/her. And the possibiities – too hard to choose.

  55. everything you design just puts a smile on my face. I really love the birds and altho I don’t knit your sweater is beautiful also. Thanks for sharing.

  56. Your little birds are so adorable! Congrats on your block! This is my first visit to your blog. I poked around a bit and really enjoyed what I saw so I subscribed to your blog by email.

  57. Your birdie patterns are such fun…they just make me happy! Thanks for the giveaway. Keeping my fingers crossed that I win a copy of the magazine.

  58. Oh the birds are absolutely adorable and fun. They made me smile. Thanks for the great block and for the giveaways.

  59. This is going to be a fun tour. Thanks for putting my name in the drawing. The birds are adorable.

  60. Love this guy – especially the To and Fro version! I’ve gotta make this one – it makes me smile!

  61. Oh my goodness! Such a cute bird block! … and so versatile. I love the different ways you’ve used it. Thanks so much for the giveaway and congrats on making it into the publicatios.

  62. I think those little birdies should take up redidence in Orlando, FL. They can even keep their hats and boots on in the air conditioning.

  63. I’ve saved all your bird patterns for future use. They are so cute! I definitely want to add this one to my collection. Maybe I’ll be a lucky winner 🙂

  64. I love your bird! All of the things you made are adorable especially the round robin quilt. This is my first time on your Blog and I’ll be back. Thanks for a chance to win a copy.

  65. He’s such a sweet little bird. i think I like the second one best in pale blue and green. He looks cold and yet is maintaining a degree of sophistication.

  66. I should head south … this winter never seemed to end and now we’re getting a deluge of rain. I want sunshine! Thanks for the cute and cheery birds 🙂

  67. Birds always are appreciated and first time to visit-thanks for letting us in on your world through this blog!

  68. Love your bird. We moved from IL to AL last June and didn’t bring a snow shovel with us! They complained about a cold winter, and I just smiled. I am looking forward to getting the new vol.

  69. that is an awesome quilt block…love the round robin quilt version….Have a great quilting day….

  70. You make me smile! The “Crossroads” is fun and so is the “Round Robin”. Thanks and congrats on being in the latest issue 9, love these 100 block issues.

  71. What a cute little snowbird! He is dressed up to live here in Alaska, but now he would need a raincoat! Thank you so much for sharing him with us.

  72. Love the birdies, I am way south from you that’s for sure. Thank you for a chance to win one of your giveaways.
    Warm hugs
    Ruthie

  73. He is soooooo cute! Love your birds! Might just have to add him to a winter quilt I am thinking about.

  74. Another variation of this adorable bird. I think this one is a home run with the fabric choices. Too cute. Thank you. So happy to be able to get the one with hat and boots. He surely needs those up here in the midwest. I’d definitely choose the NO SNOW direction if I had a choice. My reason for not going South before now is that I HATE big bugs more than the snow and even more, if going West, snakes and scorpions. NOOOOOOOOOOOO thank you. I’ll deal with the snow a bit longer I suppose.

  75. OMG! At The Crossroads and Round Robin are just TOO cute! I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of this magazine (I’m a 100 blocks fanatic!). At this moment, your little guy has just made my “To Do” list. (I think it was the boots….or maybe the “squat” comment after this looooooooooong winter….) Thanks for the chance…and thanks for a fun block!

  76. So enjoy your bird series. Doubt I qualify to win as I live in Canada (American citizen!).

    Marion Morgan

    Sent from my iPad

    • Everyone who entered before the time deadline qualified to win. There was nothing in the sign up info that said you couldn’t live in Canada. 😉

  77. Just as I love your bird designs from last year, I also love this one. I’m a sucker for anything birds.

  78. Your bird block is so cute. Love your blog too. Thank you for the giveaway and congratulations on getting your block in issue nine.

  79. I am pretty far south. I’m in Cancun, escaping from drizzly Oregon.
    I’ve been enjoying your blogs while sipping pina coladas.
    Love the cute birdies.

  80. Great design. Being a Californian I didn’t experience the wild weather you guys had, but I can appreciate the humor.

  81. What a darling block. Luckily I live in So. CA so I haven’t had to deal with snow – maybe some of your birds came out this way to get away from the snow. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  82. Cute block! This would make great pillows for my daughter who just moved to Pittsburgh. Thanks for the chance to win.

  83. He is so darn cute. Who would have thought you could do so much with a little bird. I especially like the birds in a ring. I hope to win a copy of Volume 9. Thanks for the chance.

  84. Another feathered friend! You know the “shorter” part may just indicate he’s aging a tad – happens to the rest of us. The birds are a favorite of mine. Thank you.

  85. Cute bird block. It made me think of all the people from the north who fly south for the winter, we call them snowbirds.

  86. Ist der Block schön. Der kleine Vogel bekommt sicher nie eine Erkältung.
    Tolle Idee!!
    Ulrike

  87. Handsome young man. I would head south for the winter after the winter you guys have had. Enjoy your blog.

  88. Ah, the bird! He is great. (And I only know it is a he because he is so bright!) And “Round Robin” is wonderful use of the bird. Ah, half square triangles, lol!

  89. So glad I stopped by today! This is a fun bird block, Denise! Thanks for sharing all the options for layouts with us. Thanks for a chance to win a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks! Cheers, Cathy von Jess

  90. That birdie is just too cute for his boots! After this winter, snow is now classified as a 4 letter word not to be said in our home! He is definitely going to be hung at my house and I plan on making one for my bestest friend!

  91. Laughed out loud when I got to the picture of the “Round Robin”. LOVE that you’re able to come up with such cute names to go with the pictures. I’m nowhere near creative enough to come up with brilliant names like that….Wish I was! Anyway, LOVE the little birds, and appreciate the chance to win a copy of the newest magazine with it in. I’ve been collecting all the “100 blocks” magazines, and it would be super to get one for free!!! 🙂

  92. I love these darling snow birds and I know I have to make some, maybe the Snow – No Snow is perfect for me. Your quilts are so much fun and I have many of your EQ designs already!

  93. Always loved applique,love this little guy and your comments about him. Here in SoCa we had a milld winter but know the rest of the country didn’t. My sis in IA kept me in the loop.It’s why spring is so great! Thanks for the giveaway.

  94. I really like the round robin pattern. They are all precious. I have never done a bird before. Might be time.

  95. He’s adorable! I’ve got your bird designs saved for a future project (bwahahaha!) but this one screams to be made sooner than later, especially since I am up north and most of my family is down south. I am sure they would love it!

  96. OMG! The Round Robin Quilt is what the weather has been here in St Louis. No matter how hard we tried to escape the cold, snow, rain, sleet, and etc, this is how I felt like in some sort of bad weather loop!

  97. What a wonderful block, it is so fun. Love the place mats, they are cute. Thank you for such a wonderful giveaway and congrats on being included in the issue.

  98. I have many feeders up all winter — so there are a lot of feathered friends in my
    yard. Love your bird block and would love to win a copy of the magazine.

  99. Cute bird! I very much identify with your block – Milwaukee is tooooooo far north. Thanks for the opportunity. notwendy gmail

  100. Just love your birdies….they give you warm feathery fuzzies…..

    hugs and stitches

    Debbie from Canada

  101. I love these patterns. I especially like the Round Robin. How cute. This is my first visit to your blog. I will be back often. I really like to Applique and like the combination of Applique with piecing. Thanks for this pattern.

  102. I love your bird block, and all the ways you have shown to used him. I think my favorite would be the “Wandering To and Fro”. That’s about the way we feel about now, but the “Round Robin” runs a close second.
    Thank You for this, and all you share with us.
    Lisa in Alabama

  103. Good morning from my couch with coffee in hand, enjoying day one of the tour! Very cute “snow” birds!

  104. Love your birdies! This one, tho shorter, is every bit as cute as the others–cannot wait to make this one! Thanks for the opportunity to win 100 Blocks…:-)

  105. Pingback: Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 9–Blog Tour Day #1 | QuiltMouse

  106. I LOVE the birds! You hit the mark when you said shorten the boots and they could be sleep walking. I can see that little wall hanging in my and my BFF’s future. We usually text way into the night as we both sleep little.

  107. We live in the south, Augusta, Georgia, and with me it’s not snow or no snow, it’s more about consistent temps! We had an ice storm, 2 days later it was in the 80’s! It’s been up and down like a roller coaster. I’d rather have snow. Love the bird.
    thanks for a chance, hope I win!
    Debi Horne
    debihorne54@yahoo.com

  108. Wow love the round robin design!! Love your blog; glad vol 9 brought me here!! Thanks so much!

  109. love the bird in snow boots. we’re ‘snowbirds’. 6 months every winter in arizona. i think a wall hanging is in order for the condo.
    maggie

  110. I live in North Florida & it was way too cold here! When the water in your bird bath freezes solid….it’s way too cold! I believe I saw birds dressed like this little guy in my yard wondering what’s going on!

  111. I love the block. The winter we have had I feel like we have lived in boots and hats forever. Thank you for the different wats they can be used. Congratulations on having your block in the magazine.
    Bonnie

  112. Being from MN, this would have been the winter I should have flown south for. It’s been the winter that wouldn’t go away. Thanks for the giveaway

  113. As a “Snow bird”, I love your new design! Might actually have to make a runner with them instead of just saving all the patterns.

  114. I love the first comment. Spring is certainly slow to arrive – everywhere it seems. The bird’s a cutie and I’d love a copy of the magazine. Thank you for the chance to win one.

  115. What a fun bird block. I love all the different ways you have used it.
    Thanks for having your giveaway.

  116. Your bird block is just toooooo cute – can see him or her in so many different hats and boots – what a fun fun blocks… this one will be good to play with …
    Thank for the chance to maybe win…
    MaryLou
    Fun4Me1249@aol.com

  117. I am so excited for this block. I love the, Wandering To and Fro idea. Would be great for a baby quilt.

  118. I am one of the block testers for QM’s 100 Blocks and I got your block to test. I’m not that fond of applique, but your block was fun to make. After this past winter, it was very appropriate! Thanks for sharing.

  119. What a great block, your bird would still be in style as it is still rainy and cold in
    Minnesota. So whimsical.

  120. I’m in love with the Round Robin and the very clever play on words. You have such a great imagination. I would definitely make the round robin in batiks and I’m with you on getting this whole winter thing to just go away!

  121. I love, love, love the birdies. I remember seeing the bird with a hat a long time ago on your blog. then life got busy and I stopped reading blogs for a while. I’m so glad I will be able to find the block in the new Quiltmaker 100 blocks. Yeah! I really like all the variations too. Thanks so much.

  122. Cute, cute…….love all the birds you have done and all the different ideas for using them. Thanks for the chance to win a copy of the magazine.

  123. Oh, Denise, they are so cute. Each one looked cuter than the last. And round robin, what a clever name for that quilt. Would be so wonderful to make it.

    • I’m finally catching up on emails after the blog hop — I’m not sure what you are referring to when you ask “Where do you get the patterns for this one?” The bird block was the block that is in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks magazine. Is that what you’re asking about?

  124. Love your bird pattern and your blog! Thanks for all the great ideas on ways to use your block. You share so much with your followers…we really appreciate it! I would love to win one of the magazines. I have collected all the issues so far and do enjoy using them. Can’t wait to get Volume 9!

  125. He is just so cute! He fits right in with the rest of your bird patterns, so it would be really nice to win the magazine. Pick me, pick me! Thanks for all your lovely patterns and this great giveaway.

  126. I love your bird… thanks for a chance at winning an issue of the magazine and congrat’s on being published…

  127. I love, love your bird blocks especially that Snow – No Snow. That is so cute. I always enjoy the 100 blocks magazine.

  128. How cute is he? But be careful about heading south…. we got up to 95 yesterday in Central Texas! We’ve gone from winter with a freeze earlier in the month to full on summer already, and it’s still April!

  129. I got hooked on your blog when it was primarily quilting – now I follow for the knitting too. My yarn stash is rivaling my fabric stash!

  130. I love your blog. You are so talented and thoughtful to share. Keeping my fingers crossed to win..

  131. Another fun block. I like all your layouts, but I must say the Crossroads is my favorite. Hope I win a copy of the magazine. Congratulations on having your block in it.

  132. He is so cute and your ideas seem to be endless. It is snowing here today again so the birds are scratching in the snow.

  133. Love that little birdie – all your ideas are using it are just TOO CUTE!!! Thanks. Can’t wait to get my hands on Vol. 9.

  134. I just never get tired of your fun bird designs. This one is hilarious – especially the crossroads layout. I’m so glad your block is in this next issue. Can’t wait to pick up a copy.

  135. LOVE the birdies! I was south and we had too much snow this year, haha! This is my 1st blog hop! Thanks for the chance to win!

Comments are closed.