On the Needles, Friday, April 11, 2014

My Cardipalooza Customfit Cardi maybe just might show up in next week’s report as finished!

20140411_4Have I mentioned how nicely the Wollmeise DK knits up – it’s really nice to work with.

The elbow length sleeves just have two rows I think of decreases left to do.  I plan to get those finished off and get them soaking and blocking tonight.

The other sweater pieces are already blocked so I can start seaming them tonight and maybe work on the front bands.

And have I mentioned how much I like seaming — yes I know that’s a bit weird but it’s so fun to see it all come together and very relaxing (at least so far on the projects I’ve done).

And have I mentioned how great I thought the Craftsy Class “Seaming Handknits by Chris Blysma” is.  I wholeheartedly recommend it – it has so much information and I think it’s on sale this weekend if you are interested.

And have I mentioned more yarn arrived this week?? 🙂  But before I get to that and what it’s done to my “knit from the stash” numbers 😦

I posted this photo earlier in the week but wanted to include it again for the On the Needles report … my sister’s Sunny Days Top complete!

20140409_10   So since I finished this, and added the yarn to my yards knit total, I have now knit 6,073 yards so far this year (well I’ve knit more because I reknit part of my sweater multiple times! LOL  but I’m counting finished project yardage).  And, with the lastest yarn additions this week, which you will see below, my yardage in for the year is 22,512 yards (gulp!). Considering I knit 20,100 or so yards all of last year, I need to knit faster I think. LOL  Actually, I figured out that if I divided last year’s total knit by 12 months, and then figured that monthly total for 4.5 months so far this year, I’m pretty much on track with last year’s totals so when I get my sweater finished, I’ll be ahead of the monthly totals.  Not that it matters, that’s just your trivia information for this Friday. 🙂 (It’s been a long busy week at work and I’m a little punch drunk from looking at lots of papers and bills and files…oh my! — so will be glad it just sit and knit tonight.)

Anyway, yes I know you’re waiting to see what yarn wandered into my home…..

20140409_16

First the hand spun yarn for a gift.

 

 

And then more Bamboo Pop — this is the same brand I used for my sister’s top and I love it.  I hope it wears well because it feels wonderful and knits up so nicely.

20140409_13  I got “Ocean” colorway for my next Customfit top, which I may need to cast on tonight now that I think about it because seaming that darker green sweater will be much easier by the light of day coming in my window  (yes, any excuse to start a new project) or I may wind the yarn and cast on the handspun project. I’m anxious to see if it stripes or now it looks in a Quaker Yarn Stretcher.

Anyway, the most recent Box of Fun contained my Denise’s Mandarin Duck Loopy Legends yarn. 🙂 Here again is the inspiration photo I sent them to come up with the yarn.

canard-mandarin-620x295  And here is the actual yarn, tho you really need to check it out on the Loopy Ewe website because my photo was taken in not great light and then the flash overpowered it – it’s so much prettier in real life.

 

Yes, this last box of fun really upped the tally of yarn added in.  Okay – I need to go get busy knitting, enough typing. 🙂

20140413

4 comments on “On the Needles, Friday, April 11, 2014

  1. Your Cardipalooza Customfit Cardi is looking great. Love the color. BTW, I got my first Box of Fun from the Loopy Ewe and in it were your Mandarin and Judy’s Favoite quilt skeins, plus a set of circular needles. Now I’m getting the fever to get knitting up some socks and things that I see you and Judy working on. You two are such great examples for me (except I don’t want to get my yarn stash as big as you two). Thanks for sharing your beautiful knitting projects with us all.

  2. Your sister’s sweater is beautiful. The lace work is just lovely. What is the brand of your hand spun yarn? The colors are gorgeous. Looking forward to seeing your completed sweater.

Comments are closed.