Back from vacation

Well my vacation got off to a slow start — due to snow and blizzard winds mostly near my folks (tho we did get a little snow here last weekend), my Dad was going to come pick me up on Monday to go to their house for a visit and bring me back Friday.   Finally on Wednesday he was able to get here and I was going to come back on Saturday, but more snow and winds delayed that until today – but the roads were dry coming back so it wasn’t a bad trip.

We had a great visit and I finally saw their new condo and my sister and her family’s newest house just a few blocks from my parents.  And my two nephews both made a weekend trip back from their respective colleges since I was going to be there so we had dinner at my sister’s Friday night and got to visit with all of them too.  And I’m glad the weather cooperated so they can easily get back to school today and not worry about snowy roads.

Down on the river near the dams the water is open so they took me down to see the eagles.  I have seen one or two eagles before but I have never seen 50+ eagles all in one place.  It was truly amazing.  It was a very dreary overcast day the day we were there so my photos didn’t turn out great.  Most of them were sitting in the trees across the river so I couldn’t zoom in real close and the flying ones were too fast for me to get a good photo of.  But here are a couple I took.

This was the granddaddy of them all.  He was huge sitting atop part of the dam.

20140202_8 He was  spying what fish he wanted to dived after from up there and then would swoop down

The next two photos are taken of across the river where the eagles were in the trees.  The first is the photo I took and the second is a copy where I put blue dots on the ones I could tell were eagles.  There are even more there but I can’t pick them out but had the camera zoomed as much as I could.  With the binoculars you could easily see at least 50 eagles in the trees across the river and another couple dozen fishing in the open water.  Truly an amazing sight.

 

20140202_12

dots

5 comments on “Back from vacation

  1. Denise, I live in Houston, and I have never seen an eagle, although I have heard of a few in the surrounding areas. Could you please tell me where this is located? Thanks for sharing your pictures! I’m glad you had a nice vacation.

  2. Glad you had a great vacation. I am fascinated by your eagles. I am not asking where, sort of I guess, but do they hibernate there till they move north or are they there all the time. My husband saw the same type of area in B.C. a few yrs. ago, said it was amazing. No wonder your new work is eagles. Thank you for pictures.

    Sent from my iPad

    • The latest wallhanging is actually an owl not an eagle. These eagles are along the Mississippi River in the Quad Cities. I think they live year round all up and down the river but they need open water in order to be able to fish. The rest of the river is frozen over except for near the dams so that’s why there are so many all in one spot — they are where the open water is so they can grab fish.

Comments are closed.