Knitting along

In between doing some cleaning around here and several loads of laundry, there was some knitting time.  This are coming along nicely on this sweater.  Amazing what the correct measurements can do.  My row counts and the measurements in inches actually correspond on this one — that did so not happen on the green cardi I was working on. LOL

From about 1-1/2 inches knit last night to another 5 inches or so added this afternoon. I do love this shade of gold.

20140125_1

Dog Pound Pals – New start date for February

When I set the start date for the Dog Pound Pals project, I did not have my vacation scheduled.  I know everyone who signed up is anxious to start but for February only, we will be starting the second Saturday of February rather than the first Saturday — so not next weekend but the following one.

I’m on vacation next week and tho I originally planned to be back, due to weather issues I may not be and I don’t want to come back to 100 emails from all of you asking where the February project info is and why I haven’t added it. 🙂  Unlike my other BOM projects where I take down the prior month’s block when I add the next month’s info — all info for this project will remain linked in the password protected pages until some point after the project has been completely presented.

And this reminder (after what was my final reminder) 😉  sign ups end tonight.  You need to have emailed me privately by the end of today to start the sign up process to play along. Email address is to the right under my photo at contact me.  Type the address in, do not copy and paste it as for some reason those emails are not coming through. I may or may not respond to you with the necessary question you need to answer to prove you have purchased DPP block collection or the password until I get back from vacation – depends on how busy I am this weekend – but as long as I have your original email asking to join in my inbox today, you will be able to join.

And once again – for those who have your password and sign up is complete but have not tried signing into the password protected page – please do so BEFORE we start this project so if there is any problem, you can get it resolved.   If you are having problems getting into the password protected page, please read this blog post.  The most important tip — when you click on the link to get to the protected page at the top of the blog – the page does not really look like it changes or has done anything because the top bar looks the same, the fabric photo looks the same BUT it DOES change. 🙂  Scroll down to where I would normally have text for a blog post and you will see where to type in a password.

By justquiltin Posted in DPPAS

On the Needles

A bit late with my on the needles post but I was busy knitting instead.

20140125_9   The first CustomFit sweater I was working on has been put in a time out.  Not the fault of the sweater or the design — it is the fault of the measurement taker person (ME!).  Was I drunk when I took those measurements? No, but some were so off.  Things just were looking a bit off on my open cardi I ws knitting – sections turning out longer than I thought they should be in inches compared to row count.  But after I made my swatch and washed it, the yarn did condense – shrink in so I figured that’s what part of it was – pieces would shrink up when blocked.  I finished the back and moved on to one of the fronts but decided I’d go back and look at my measurements since in reading many messages on the Rav group – lots of people were getting certain measurements wrong.   There are of lots of video help, illustration help on CustomFit so you can get your measurements correct and some good tricks too but I think I was in too much of a hurry to get started and it is really hard to measure yourself – a buddy system would have been better (but why subject someone else to those scary numbers!) and I wanted to get started.  But say you are measuring from side waist to low hip – you tend to bend to look at it the tape which changes the measurements. (Measuring yourself in front of a mirror was one of their great tips I followed the second time and I could see where I would have been bending and getting incorrect #s the first time).   Plus, I skipped one part about not measuring sleeve cap area in the sleeve length so had I gotten to knitting the sleeves, I would have had monkey arms on my sweater.  I can’t believe how wrong I had those numbers.  And a common mistake people were making was where their high hip, low hip and mid hip measurements should be.  So I think I overcompensated a bit there and while I don’t mind long cardis, this was a bit longer than needed.   When I re-measured, I put on my favorite sweater which is the length I would want most of my sweaters  – to double check that the measurement I took coincided with the length of that sweater and it was spot on so I’ll be a lot happier with that. So new measurement list made which when I rechecked everything seemed to be spot on.

So anyway – after  slapping myself in the forehead for doing such a bad measuring  job the first time –  I decided to put the open cardi aside until I feel like ripping it back – I still plan to make it once I plug the new measurements in and get a revised pattern.  But a new sweater had captured my attention (which is so easy to do).   I had new measurements so next, knit the swatch in the photo above.  Soak it and let it dry.   The yarn is Miss Babs Yowza-Whatta Skein! in Old Gold .  I so love that with CustomFit I just knit a swatch with whatever yarn I want to use to get the drape (or lack of drape) I want, and then uses my personal gauge to general the pattern to fit me (if the measurements are done  right!) 🙂  I never ever was able to get the same stitch AND row gauge patterns called for in patterns and here that doesn’t matter.  So after plugging in my swatch info and choosing my correct measurement chart, moments later a pattern specifically in my size.

So I cast on Shore Ledges last night but didn’t get far before I the movie I was watching put me to sleep. 😉  But I’m on vacation all next week, visiting my folks if the snow storms expected over the weekend and frigid cold don’t spoil travel plans, so will be taking it along to work on.

20140125_11A little more progress has been made on the current pair of socks too.

So no  finished projects to report this week and no new yarn added to the stash THIS week.  Yes, that will change but the Old Gold I want to use for Shore Ledges I needed a bit more yardage than what I have.  I had just purchased that right at the end of the year when Miss Babs had a sale and I don’t know if the two hanks she had on her website are still from that dye batch or not so I ordered both (tho I only need one) in the hopes to get a good match or be able to alternate among all the skeins to make sure there’s no great shading discrepancy.