Are you ready for a mystery?

1414 Mystery Quilt Lane

Next weekend is mystery quilt day.  Have you chosen your fabrics?  Are they cut?  I have spent quite a bit of time this morning pulling fabrics out of the stash, tossing them on the floor, keeping some, unfolding to see how much yardage I really had, tossing more aside due to lack of yardage.  I had a plan, discarded that for a better plan, then I saw the sash of cute snowman flannels and plaids — I have a very small flannel collection and not enough of anything to use for background but made mental note of using them for snuggly tv quilt for me soon.  Pulled winter fabrics – not enough of what I wanted to do with it.

Finally a decision – or at least the beginnings of a decision.  I don’t know if all these will be used but I think most of these will survive the cut when I actually see how much yardage there is since I think there is enough of the ones I need the most yardage for.  Finally – it’s been ages since I’ve had time to cut and sew.  I should be quilting my nephew’s quilt but I don’t have the thread I want so off to iron these fabrics.

20140111_3

5 comments on “Are you ready for a mystery?

  1. I chose Christmas fabrics (all from my stash, didn’t want to go out and buy more fabric), sort of based on the pictures you posted with the yardage requirements. I’m really excited about it and did my cutting yesterday. Fabrics 1 – 5 are cut and ready to go. However, I chose 2 different fabrics for the background fabric, since I didn’t have 2 3/4yd of any one. One is 1 yard and the other 2 yards. Do you have any advice on which cuts should come out of which fabric? Or should I just wait til next week and figure it out as I go along?

  2. I have chosen to do a quilt of valor with some Department of the Navy fabric as my focus. I have it all cut and will start later in the weekend as I will be gone for both Sat and Sun morning next weekend. I am really looking forward to it!

  3. I have chosen winter prints but I’m having trouble deciding on 2 of them. I’ve taken pictures and sat back and looked but those 2 are still a mystery in themselves.

Comments are closed.