So that’s what that looks like!

20140105_7  Yes those sewing room closet doors do close and there does not need to be a bunch of yarn tubs or tubs of quilt tops sitting in front of them!  Who’d a thunk!    I have reclaimed most of the sewing room.   There does seem to be an empty spot in that closet tho where something should go so I have to figure out what I put somewhere else. LOL  I know that closet is normally packed.  I think I moved a container or two of quilting stuff to the coat closet after the flood in this closet so have to go see if I still have anything stored in there.

 

But the table is back to being able to be used as a table too.

20140105_1Well yes there’s still stuff on it but the left half is stuff to make  Loopy Challenge project an the quilt on the right is my nephew’s which is still waiting to be quilted.  At least there’s now room to do it – I think that’s on my agenda for next weekend.

I decided to stop for a coffee break and realized it’s dinner time instead!  But I’ll have some coffee first since it won’t take long to heat up dinner – pork chop, mashed potatoes and sauerkraut. Yum.  I have never been a fan of mashed potatoes but Bob Evans single serve “original” mashed potatoes — those are the best potatoes I’ve ever had! Yum.

Oh and as I was putting some fabric away, I pulled out a few to consider for a project.

I had been thinking about using these bright colored snowmen for the mystery quilt.  I may still use that pattern but make it smaller.  A good friend/coworker had a little boy last month, who came to the office to visit on Friday, and I think he may need a bright winter quilt.    I’ll have to see what I can find for a background.

And I have my plan for tomorrow to see just how many layers of clothes I can put on and still be able to walk (yes, visions of kids in snowsuits with arms sticking straight out are going through my head).   LOL

20140105_4Temperature when I head to the bus tomorrow is supposed to be 22 or 24 below – doesn’t really matter which LOL and wind chill minimum of 41 below they are saying now but up to 60 below.  I just found the tights to put under my jeans (we don’t normally get to wear jeans to work (actually two days a month we do) 🙂 but I’m not bothering to even take dress pants to change – it would take hours for them to warm up enough after being outside for me to put on!)  🙂  Besides with all the schools closed, I’m betting the office will be missing quite a few parents who stayed home with their kids, and I think it’s going to be a very quiet day at the office.  My big, wide, long, thick  shawl that I use at home when I’m watching tv – simply doesn’t matter that it won’t go well with coat – it will wrap around my head and shoulders and be toasty.

 

Time to go start that dinner!

11 comments on “So that’s what that looks like!

  1. Good job, Denise. Now that experienced in sorting, stacking, packing, etc. I think you need to come visit me and we can do my closets (notice the s on closet), etc. together. Ha, ha. What? Did I hear you say you’re not taking up my offer? Oh, well, then I guess it will have to wait till next week when my overnight visitors leave (no, they are just coming and going all this week).

  2. You have inspired me to get at it in the sewing room. So many things need moved around and put away. Can’t wait to see the snowman quilt. I bet it won’t be used only for winter.
    Thinking of you today. Stay warm. The vision of you doing your snowsuit walk to the bus will stay with me all day. 🙂

  3. Oh do take care in that cold tomorrow! If the bus can start, I hope it gets you to and from work. Will be thinking of you! Thank heavens for wool garmets.

  4. Where in Wi. are you? I am from Wi but come to Fl every winter. Starting to worry about what will happen to pipes etc in such cold weather. Keep warm

  5. I have some of that snowman fabric, I even know where it is. I have had it for at least 10 years. Glad to know I am not the only one that hangs on to fabric till the right pattern/time comes along.
    Donna in sunny but cold Oregon

    • Yes the snowman fabric has been sitting on the shelves along time, along with a bunch of other snowmen. We did a fat quarter swap of snowman prints years ago and I’ve never gotten around to using them yet.

  6. I can’t believe they didn’t cancel work – and everything else! It’s only two days it’s going to be that bad, I think, so everyone should stay home and save lives. I love the snowman fabrics. Is that a current line of fabric?

    • There are a lot of things cancelled but I’d rather they leave the office open — it costs a lot of money to close down a big office and pay everyone for not working for one day, let alone two. I prefer to see that money in my raise. 🙂 Will have to wait and see what tomorrow brings – if it’s too bad I’ll just come back home. NO the snowman fabric is ancient – We did a fat quarter swap of snowman prints years ago and there is a big pile of snowmen and snow ladies feeling neglected all these years.

Comments are closed.