A new knitting project and some fabric

If you are a Ravelry surfer, you may have seen Amy Herzog’s Designs (which I love) and her latest creation, CustomFit.make.wear.love patterns.  I’ve been reading info on her Ravelry Group regarding CustomFit, looking at all the great garments women who are my size range have been making, and decided to give it  a try.  I’m always confused in sweater making when they give a bust measurement and say it should have so many inches of ease — added on to the bust measurement? is it included in the bust measurement? If it’s not included, many designers don’t carry extended sizes.  Just too many things to try to figure out, guess incorrectly, and then rip out a project or just not wear it because I don’t like it.  And then there’s  the expense – I am not a petite person and will never be one – just my height means I need to add to the length of sweaters, sleeves, etc. and then there’s the width …– hence a lot of lovely yarn is needed which is not cheap.  So after reading the group messages, website, etc. since it was launched I decided to take the plunge and give it a try.

So that’s what my swatch was for .

20131230_7 After it dried, I marked off an area to count rows and stitches.  That’s one of the things I like about CustomFit – I don’t have to match my gauge to anything.  I  just pulled out some needles and started swatching – I like the feel of the fabric it makes and that’s all that matters.  The pattern is created to accommodate my personal gauge with the needles I used and the yarn I want to use, my measurements, I picked the style sweater I wanted, the fit style I wanted (close fitting, average, or relaxed — I chose the relaxed), and within a minute, quite literally, a pattern was generated specific to me.  No having to mark which stitch counts or row counts to follow on a multiple size pattern.  So I’m excited to start on this project and see how it goes.  We’ll see how well I did on the measurements too or if they need some tweaking — some of those measurements  are a bit tricky to do on your own – like the back underarm — but I compared it to a favorite sweater so hopefully I did okay.

First I really want to get the Greta vest finished and then there’s Art Deco I want to start, but hopefully later this week I’ll start on this green sweater and see where it takes me.

 

dppasbuttonfinal

 

Oh and I’m so excited — I really love the plaid that I colored in the DPPAS block on the button with and thought it would be fun to use a plaid rather than a more traditional solid or tone on tone neutral background for my quilt.  But I also knew that fabric had been in EQ’s fabric Stash for a while so probably was no longer available in quilt shops.  But with a whole lot of sleuthing, I found just enough — or at least I’m going to make it be just enough!  So I’m very excited about that.  So far there are  42 quilters signed up to play in this project.  Have you started collecting your fabrics yet?  I know I have several great fabrics to use for the dogs but I think this weekend I’ll have to go stash diving and start collecting them in one container to see if I need more and if so what colors.

A few Monday accomplishments

I did finally get a few things done today.  The bedroom is mostly clean – things picked up, couple loads of laundry done, closet straightened, and knitting storage containers back under the bed.  It still needs some vacuuming, dusting and top of the dresser and night stand cleared up a bit but heck I’m on vacation can’t do too much work.  But at least I won’t trip over anything and no longer of two yarn  tubs taking up room.  And there was room in those under the bed storage tubs to add more yarn so I gathered some that I need to put away and filled them back up.

I finished knitting the swatch I need to make, it got soaked and is drying so I can go back and mark it and count stitches and rows to decide what I want to make with this yarn since I decided against the original project I was going to use it for.  It’s Wollmeise DK in Pesto. I was not overly fond of the Wollmeise sock yarn I had previous knit with but this DK feels wonderful and will make a great sweater of some kind.

20131230_7

I also spread the bottom of my Greta across a couple other needles so it wasn’t all bunched up – tried it on – and my guess work at adding some increases where those stitch markers are I think worked perfectly.  I was so afraid it would be too snug across my broad backside and pull the front edges back.  Then I was afraid I put the increases in the wrong place but it looks like it will hang very nicely despite my bumps and bulges.  Excellent!

And I figure I have another 6 inches or so to knit to get the length I want but I need to heck how wide the bottom band is to decide for sure.

Time to go finish fixing dinner – need to make a salad – the stuffed mushroom caps should be nearly done and are smelling great.

20131230_4

Meandering Monday

That’s what I’ve been doing – sort of meandering from one room to another, one task to another – not accomplishing much at all.   But then again, a day of work is meant for meandering I guess.  But I hate it when I think back over the day and haven’t accomplished what I wanted.

I was going to venture down the drive to the mailboxes but it’s minus 2, I opened the door and decided against it.  The wind chill is not nice.  So I closed the door and cranked up the heat inside a bit. LOL

I did get a load of laundry started, had a late breakfast, did a whole lot of futzing around on the computer, and played with a simple quilt design.

So I think I’ll switch laundry, and then go put the bottom of my Greta vest on several needles so it can be stretched out and tried on to measure how much longer I want it, and then I have a swatch to knit for a new project I want to start.

Maybe just maybe I’ll straighten up the bedroom and gather the rest of the yarn that needs to be put away – but that sounds like a lot of work!

Here’s the design I am playing with – a little eye candy for today.

mosaic