A hat finished!

The first Scraptastic – which is not scrappy but follows that pattern – is completed.  As you may have guessed – since I started it late yesterday afternoon, it’s an easy knit.

scraptastic topHere’s the top of it – I like how the decrease come together in an asterisk shape on the top of the hat – makes for a nice fitting hat.

The photo of the top of the hat is the one that is true to color to the yarn.

Here’s a side view.

2

 

Now my dilemma is what yarn to use for the second hat.   I wound this one that’s called Camouflage with a Twist but   I can’t really decide if I like it or not.  And that spot on the lower left that looks sort of bright blue – hmm it must be ore subtle than that photo  shows because I didn’t really see that color in this yarn when it’s wound but maybe it blends more than the photo shows.

camoflaguewtwist scarlet fleece

Here’s a blurry photo of it wound.

l 011  Some of the greens in it look a bit bright but then maybe the goldy colors temper that when it’s knit up.  And after all we are in Green Bay Packer country so green and gold might not be bad.

I think I’ll cast on and see how it looks as its knit and decide once I get the ribbing done.

A hat in progress

I decided yesterday I need to make two hats.  I was even going to break out the Wollmeise but after knitting the ribbing, decided I didn’t like it in Wollmeise.  I wanted a cushy, wooly soft warm hat and while Wollmeise shows stitch definition really really well, I wouldn’t call it soft and cushy.  It feels more like a cotton yarn to me – which is just fine and I can’t wait to make a sweater out of some of it – but it just wasn’t what I was envisioning for the hat.

So stash diving I went — looking for something “manly” among the many colors and came up with some thing that was exactly what I had pictured in my mind – it is so soft and will make a great feeling hat.

20131208_1I also changed patterns from my first attempt since this is sock yarn.  It’s the Scraptastic hat and although mine isn’t scrappy, I think it’d be a great way to use up those left over sock yarns.

It will be a day of a bit of this and a bit of that I think.  I load of laundry done and put way – another load started.  I forgot I had a storage box of winter clothes in one closet so need to see what’s in it — I can see a couple things through the box that I never did like so I think I’ll start a Good Will bag and clear some of that out.  I just might gain another yarn storage tub! LOL  And the bedroom definitely needs some tidying. And of course there’s more hat knitting to be done.

First I think some brunch is in order – and my own little celebratory brunch it will be since I’m quite pleased with myself at the moment. LOL  I started Weight Watchers online on Oct. 6 and now, ten weeks later there’s 35 pounds less of me.  I’m very happy with that!