Swing Cowl

swing cowl

Isn’t this cool!  I just love the way it is looking.  Did I tell you that if you knit you really need to try making this Swing Cowl by Angela Meinz?   LOL  Yes I believe I did – but seriously, it is just fun to knit and so easy.  And if you look at the pattern page on Ravelry, you’ll see a photo of mine in progress there.  The designer saw it and asked if she could add it to her page – how cool is that!

I’m already thinking about what other yarn combinations I might use for the next one.

The lower edge – or lower edge in my photo – is a little wavy — that’s because my brown yarn is a bit  heavier weight than the Mini Mochi.  I can probably block it straighter but I kind of like it free form as it is. 🙂

12 comments on “Swing Cowl

  1. It’s so pretty that I have started one also! I am using it as you suggested to practice the swing stitch for the Dreambird shawl.

    • Michelle the color changes aren’t hard. It’s just two different strands of yarn and you don’t break/cut any of them as you are working – they just get carried up the side. It’s much much easier that it looks. 🙂

      • Yeah but then I have to learn how to carry. I had a hard enough time with mittens. Someday soon though. I’m braving the hitchhiker next once I buy my needles. I never seem to have the ones I need.

      • Ah but that’s also the beauty of this pattern – all you do at the end of the row is twist one strand around the other so it carrys up — nothing tricky.
        No matter how many sets of needles I have – it always seems I can never find the ones I want or they are already stuck in something I really should finish first. LOL (do I finish the other project first -nope, I either substitute needle size or just buy more) 🙂

  2. I really don’t knit, but because of you, I’ve downloaded 2 patterns! I love how this cowl and it’s colors look. I also liked the feather shawl. Quit doing this to me!

  3. It is beautiful. Love the colors and ths way the design works. This is next after my projects for Christmas presents are finished. Of course I will have to gift this too, as I live in The Valley of the Sun.

Comments are closed.