Sunday Stuff and French Onion Soup

No stashbusting to report this week.  Not like that’s anything new lately. Tho I did turn down an offered trip to the local quilt shop so did avoid  the temptation of adding to the stash.  One of these days there will be some progress to report and something up on the wall for design wall Monday — really there will!

As promised earlier – here’s the French Onion Soup Recipe I use which  I made yesterday.  It’s quick an easy and oh so delicious.

  • 1/4 c. butter or margarine
  • 2 very large onions (my personal preference vidalias or something similar) very thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp  sugar
  • 1-1/2 c dry white wine
  • 5 c. beef broth
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • Melt butter over medium hi heat and add onions and sugar. Cook, stirring occasionally until onions are tender and carmel colored.
  • Stir in flour until well blended.  Add wine (and pour yourself a glass to sip while cooking).  Stir constantly until mixture thickens and boils.
  • Stir in beef broth and pepper and bring to a boil.  Taste it and add salt as needed.

Freezes great. I don’t have ramekins I can put in the oven to bake the cheese on top so I generally don’t put salt in it because I use Texas  Toast restaurant style  croutons that have salt on them, put some in a bowl, pour piping hot soup over, and then top with shredded swiss. Yum.

The last installment of the Continuous Chain BOM is now available in the link on the right sidebar.  Please share photos if you’ve made this quilt. I’d love to see them.

Here’s what I woke up to yesterday morning.  It’s pretty so I’ll try to enjoy that rather than thinking of how long it is until the spring thaw.🙂

So after filling the bird feeders this morning to make the birds happy, hung up this cute little painted  tin decoration I found.

Here’s the second boss’s scarf all finished.

  I love the way it turned out.  Decided I needed one more for a friend so I started on it last night and here it is so far- I like the way the colors are making a sort of twisted X look.

I also started on my sweater.  Haven’t gotten too far but so far so good.

Here’s as far as I’ve gotten with the tree – it’s up – just still lacking ornaments so far.

5 comments on “Sunday Stuff and French Onion Soup

  1. Love that White tree!!! Cool looking scarves too🙂 Have printed off the French Onion Soup recipe as that’s one of my all time favorites.

    Be careful in that snow!!!

    • Thanks. When I first got the white tree I was afraid I might get tired of it but I really love it. It’s so nice and full and the glass ornaments really sparkle against it and stand out so much better. Now I just have to get to the unwrapping of the ornaments and get them on the tree.

  2. Thanks again, Denise, for the patterns. I have the finale and hope to get it done before the end of the year! We had snow a month ago, but it melted. Nothing, it seems, sticks around like my UFO pile! Nice scarves. I will look forward to seeing your sweater!

  3. Love the blue bird tin stocking….

    I love to make onion soup, though my recipe is different. Heck, it’s different every time I make it! It’s a great way to use up onions and I even mix types of onions. IF I don’t have beef broth, I use chicken broth. But, excellent suggestion to give the cook a glass of wine while stirring!

    Liz

Comments are closed.